French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This recipe is outstanding!!!! Thank you for posting it. I loved these muffins so much that I had to write a review. That says it all because I never write comments or rate recipes. This is one of my favorite recipe on this website... Simple, all ready have ingredients. I followed the recipe except added at touch more nutmeg and used a mini muffing pan. Also I used half shortening and half margarine. Roll the entire muffin in margarine and coat with sugar/cinnamon and then followed up with another dip in the butter with more cin/sugar mix. The second dip and coating made a BIG impact. You got to do it! I finished the last one up at 11:30 pm and made a cup of coffee to go with it. This recipe is a keeper and will be used in my Family Cook book(a collection of recipes my kids love to eat and make). I can hardly wait to see what they think of these yummy breakfast treats. This will be a great change up from cereal and bagels. Don't just save this recipe......MAKE IT. You will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Kansas, USA
Living In: Helena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I was't really a fan of these. I found they tasted too much like biscuits but maybe that was the point being as it's a "breakfast" pastry. People still ate them but I wasn't too excited about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this, this morning. I added a few ingredients because I read the reviews and they said it was a bit bland. It was delicious!! My family and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Dry. Bland. My boyfriend ate one and then chose to eat 10-day old store-bought cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My family and friends loved these morsels! Yes they taste a bit like a snicker doodle, excellent! We loved the bit more dense more texture, not quite a biscuit. Followed the advice of other reviewers by brushing the tops of warm muffins with butter and sprinkling on cinnamon sugar. That worked great and tasted great too. We also added frozen blueberries to a batch. Obviously extending the baking time since they are frozen, but it was a delicious add. We backed them as mini muffins in the oven and in my daughter's Babycakes electric muffin maker. Loved the baby cakes outcome, it was a fatter muffin with a crispy top of the muffin as the top gets baked too when the top is in place. Would use Babycakes again. All in all, this recipe is a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This has been a long time family favorite! My mom used to make them for us and now I make them for my children. The kids like to do the dipping, so it's fun for everyone!(I use powdered sugar and cinnamon instead of regular sugar to dip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I liked these...ALOT! This is a very consistant recipe..I have made these twice and both times they turned out the same-DELICIOUS! I made these in regular muffin tins (I didn't have a mini muffin tin) and they filled 12 about half way. I used wheat flour instead of white, butter instead of shortening. I used Muscavado sugar (a whole form of sugar) instead of white and I added cinnamon. These were light and my husband and I both loved them. I had been jonesing for donuts and this is a cross between a sugar-cinnamon cake donut and coffee cake-Awesome recipe!!!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I love these. they come out perfect and if you like doughnuts but don't want to spend the time these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Pretty good. Add cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States