French Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
These muffins are awesome! They are a huge hit with the family every time I make them. They work especially well as mini-muffins. ------- Update: I now use this recipe as a base for other muffins, like replace the nutmeg with vanilla and add 1 cup of blueberries. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
My kids loved these! They are not light and fluffy like store-bought muffins, but instead they have a nice pound cake-like texture. They travel well (not too big and not too crumbly) and make a great breakfast or snack on the go. Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
These were extremely tasty. And i doubt you could mess the recipe up if you tried...and... this was one of *those* mornings. I halved the recipe, using just the egg white, which i added to too-hot butter.. it curdled up... no matter! Except the batter was consequently too thick.. added a little more milk until it looked right... proceed! I also thought i'd cut the butter and sugar down just a little (about 25%), as part of my ongoing quest for calorie-wise baked goods. I then let my 6-year-old manhandle the batter into the pan, stirring and shovelling until well beyond the "barely moistened" stage. After all that, my expectations of the end result were not that high. But, lo and behold, they were superfantastic... could serve to guests.. tasted like something you might get at a classy B&B. My kiddo thought they tasted like "pudding" (the nutmeg flavour reminded him of my rice pudding i guess). Dense yet tender with a fabulous aroma. This will become a weekend staple in my house. Instead of dipping in butter/sugar, i applied the butter with a pastry brush and sprinkled sugar over (you use a lot less that way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
well, it's not like this needs another review, but... i made the recipe as stated and: added generous amounts of ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves to the flour. (i subbed gluten-free flour 1:1) i added vanilla to the egg mixture. added chopped frozen mango and pecans to the flour before adding the egg mixture. they only took 14 minutes to bake. these are a keeper--lots of possibilities to play....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
One of the simplest muffin recipes on here! Very tasty and done in no time. I wouldn't change a thing...except to make more next time. Definitely serve warm! Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I grew up making these favorites for Sunday morning breakfast. The only thing we did differently was instead of putting them in muffin cups, we poured the batter into well-greased muffin tins, then immediately after taking them out of the oven, we dipped the whole muffin in butter then rolled it in cinnamon sugar. They certainly weren't dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Yum! I just made these. So simple and delicous. I made mini muffins and baked them for 12 minutes. My 4 year old dipped them in the butter and c/s mixture. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are ok. They are small muffins and I filled the muffin pans 3/4 full. For the final step, I didn't dip them into butter, instead I painted it on w/ a pastry brush and just sprinkled on the cinnamon/sugar. This way I used less of each ingredient. They are not that sweet, so do add the topping as it needs it. It's also not that hearty of a muffin. Accually, it's more like some kind of cake (maybe a pound cake or coffee cake?)than a muffin. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These came out great! I took some of the advice in other reviews and changed 1/2 cup sugar to 1/4 sugar and 1/4 brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract. I should have taken everyone's advice and halved the topping recipe; there was still a lot of sugar left that I didn't want to put on for fear of making them too sweet. I suppose they do taste cakey, but I like cakey : ) Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I used 1/4C white sugar,1/4C brown sugar and added chopped walnuts. Seems to be a good basic muffin as is or using variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States