French Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exact except I had no nutmeg so I subbed mace and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Tasted good, not fancy but still yummy. But the recipe made maybe 9 or 10 muffins, not 12 and the consistency was more of a fluffy tea biscuit. I did not over-mix ingredients, if anything maybe under mixed them. Will try out again & see. I think a grate or 2 of lemon rind would be very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMomCooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These are delicious, and they made the entire kitchen smell like heaven. The nutmeg really makes these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
12 minutes for minis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
perfect with so many different ways to use them. Instead of topping with cinnamon and sugar you can also use these for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menotcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
These were delicious, just like the ones I buy from a popular cafe here in the Bay Area (N. Cal). I used 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/4 cup granulated white sugar for the batter (instead of just 1/2 cup white sugar as the recipe requires) bc that's what the local cafe does. Also, this recipe only yielded 9 regular muffins -- not 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This recipe is one of the best recipes I have for muffins. I couldn't find milk, so I substituted it with coconut milk. I found 25 minutes of baking time resulted in a crunchy top with a soft inside, but for those who like a soft muffin top, I would recommend baking them for only 20 minutes. These were the perfect sweetness, just right for an after dinner "snack". This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These muffins are amazing! You can also make a crumb cake with the same recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Well, although mine didn't come out like in the picture, they were still yummy. I added in some blueberries and subbed nutmeg for vanilla. They didn't seem ready after just 25 minutes so I left them in for 10 more minutes. (I was kind of hesitant because I didn't want them to burn but they came out fine). Good breakfast muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I subsituted nutmeg with vanilla and they were sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Kabachia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Really delicious, they were gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States