French Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a very good muffin. I made mini muffins for my grandson. They were very easy to make and not too sweet. Almost a pound cake or doughnut (munchkin) texture. I found that 1 tablespoon of melted butter was just enough for the mini muffin toppings. A light dip is all you need. No need to soak the tops before adding the cinnamon/sugar. There was leftover cinnamon/sugar which I saved for later use. Chocolate chips would be a nice addition in these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Doubled the sugar because my husband loves thing very sweet. Had to bake 5 minutes longer, but these were divine. Also used sour cream in place of milk and add cranberries I had in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this one morning while my parents and siblings were asleep. The kitched is next to my parents bedroom, and they didn't wake up! It was very easy and didn't require a mixer. The turnout was heavenly...I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exact except I had no nutmeg so I subbed mace and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Tasted good, not fancy but still yummy. But the recipe made maybe 9 or 10 muffins, not 12 and the consistency was more of a fluffy tea biscuit. I did not over-mix ingredients, if anything maybe under mixed them. Will try out again & see. I think a grate or 2 of lemon rind would be very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMomCooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These are delicious, and they made the entire kitchen smell like heaven. The nutmeg really makes these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
12 minutes for minis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
perfect with so many different ways to use them. Instead of topping with cinnamon and sugar you can also use these for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menotcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
These were delicious, just like the ones I buy from a popular cafe here in the Bay Area (N. Cal). I used 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/4 cup granulated white sugar for the batter (instead of just 1/2 cup white sugar as the recipe requires) bc that's what the local cafe does. Also, this recipe only yielded 9 regular muffins -- not 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This recipe is one of the best recipes I have for muffins. I couldn't find milk, so I substituted it with coconut milk. I found 25 minutes of baking time resulted in a crunchy top with a soft inside, but for those who like a soft muffin top, I would recommend baking them for only 20 minutes. These were the perfect sweetness, just right for an after dinner "snack". This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These muffins are amazing! You can also make a crumb cake with the same recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States