French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
OH MY GOD!! THIS RECIPE IS FANTABULOUS!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I used 5 teaspoons of yeast - 2 teaspoons salt - 4 1/2 cups of flour, oven proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Kruitwagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morganlacey
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe about 5 times now and this last time was the first time I've made a few changes. The original recipe is good but I've been baking a lot lately and have learned a few tricks. I added a touch more salt, 1 tbsp butter and most importantly I used gluten. If you substitute 1 tbsp per cup of AP flour you get a version of bread flour. This makes the bread nice and chewy. Bob's Red Mill makes a wonderful kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great recipe! After reading reviews, I reduced the flour to 5 cups and increased the salt to two teaspoons. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was my first attempt at french bread and it turned out perfect! I make bread monthly, so I was happy to read other reviewers pointers and took those all into consideration. When it came to the yeast , the recipe said 2 1/2 pkgs, I didn't want to try and half that little pkg so I used it all (3 pkgs). After reading the reviews about the flour I decided to measure out all 6 cups in a separate bowl, using 2 cups to start and then with the 4 cups left over, stir in what I could and then knead in some more until consistency felt right. Like another reviewer said there was flour leftover. I let mine rise for a 1 + 1/2 hrs. This recipe did make 2 good size loaves. When my loaves cooled my end use for this was garlic bread. I got the garlic bread recipe from Brown Eyed Baker posted February 2015 Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wow. Just made this tonight and whoa was it a hit!!!!!!!! Even the neighbors couldn't get enough!! Will absolutely positively make this again!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was my first try on making a bread with yeast. It might be my fault but it just didn't taste good and was tough and hard,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Look at me! I'm making French bread like a pro!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulletbikeguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe was easy to follow. The video really helped too. It was my first time making this type of bread and it turned out perfectly, and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDerek
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States