French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
If by french bread you mean baguette then I'm sorry but this is not baguette. The crust is... Not a crust! Way too soft. Won't make that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I gave this recipe two stars, although this may be a great recipe we home bakers will never know, a few problems with the recipe, 1, it is measured by volume and not weight and this is a big problem if you want consistency since a cup of flour by volume can change from batch to batch because of the density of the flour size of measuring cup and compaction of the flour in the cup. This goes for all ingredients, they should be measured by weight not volume. 2, your adding the salt right away this should be added later as salt inhibits yeast growth you should wait until after the first rest but you do not have a resting period in your recipe instructions which is my next point. 3, you do not allow a resting after the first mixing to allow gluten to form. 4, your water should not reach a temp of 110 although this will not kill the yeast it will cause it to rise to fast. like I stated at the start, this is probably a very good recipe but we will never know unless someone would like to take the time to experiment and give us this recipe by weight in grams or oz. not cups or teaspoon. bread making is almost like being in chemistry and the amounts of each ingredient is that important. if you doubt me then go ask any local baker if they use volume, you will be laughed at. I learned all this by taking a professional bread makers class. it was very helpful in my homemade bread making venture. I would suggest that anyone who has not taken a bread making class to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman Tanguay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Wow!!! This was a great recipe! The bread was delicious and easy to make. I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing!! Lisa B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I love the bread. I made it like the recipe said to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. it's nice and crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. this works so great for going with alot of different meals We like it for garlic bread thanks so much for sharing this is one we use and will continue to use.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except I cut in half and made only one loaf and I added the entire amount of salt despite halving the recipe. I thought my dough was too dry and it didn't become as smooth and elastic as I thought it should have. I was a little worried. The end result was really good though, nice flavor and a crunchy exterior without a bread stone or spritzing with water. Next time I won't roll out the dough into a large rectangle and jelly roll it into a loaf. My loaf stayed jelly rolled on the inside, it didn't become a proper loaf. I recommend you roll and stretch the dough ball into shape by hand on the board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe! Did take the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp. more of salt. And, also added two TB melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States