French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have made this dough 5 different times now. I have shaped it as dinner rolls, baguettes and batards. It always comes through for me. All of my friends and family love the taste and texture of the loaves. I've cooked it in my oven in the kitchen and in my outdoor ceramic oven which is my Big Green Egg. It is becoming my go to bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Not bad at all and quite easy, but the name would lead you to believe they are something exceptional and they aren't. They are just fairly good. Probably worthwhile, esp. for someone like me who is no expert bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
They were fairly easy to make & tasted all right, but the oven temperature of 400 degrees was way too high. Luckily, I set the timer for 10 minutes & they were still burned a little on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have been making these rolls for a long time and they are always good and have become a family favorite. I have on grandson that can eat four or five at a time! I always have the basic ingredients needed to make this recipe so I can whip them up without having to make a trip to the grocery store and that is a big plus in my busy world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These were a hit with my family! I didn't have sugar so I substituted with honey (just so you know in case you run into the same problem). Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe seven times now. These rolls get better every time. Not only do they taste good, they look beautiful. I roll the individual rolls as demonstrated several times on line by chefs. I am getting better at that too. Be sure to let them rise well for both rises. I set my oven to 200 and then turn it off and stick my bread or rolls in to rise. If you roll these into 12 rolls, they will fit perfectly in an 8 x 13 baking dish. They end up as beautiful pull apart rolls. By making only a dozen, you get nice large rolls that are great for sandwiches. I make them in my kitchenaid and let it do all the work of mixing and kneading. Thanks so much for the recipe JoCatlin. I can't imagine a better dinner roll recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My second time making this...this time I kept it in a loaf instead of the rolls. Perfect to say the least, my 6 years old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I was looking for something more than your traditional dinner roll and I found it. This bread is best fresh when the inside is still soft and the outside is hard and chewy. I will say though, think about what the instructions are saying before following them. I followed the instructions to a T and after putting a damp cloth over the formed rolls all that happened is they all stuck to the cloth and I had to reform all of the rolls. Still kicking myself for doing that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made these rolls at least 50 times now and they are fabulous. Only amendment I have made is reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon as 2 is too sweet for French bread. In summer when it is very dry and low humidity I need to increase the water slightly as all of our ingredients dry out. Having been a regular buyer of French bread in France I would say this is very close to the texture and the inside is so soft and fluffy. Freezes very well and keeps in plastic bag for 24-36 hours which is better than shop bought French bread. Great recipe. Cook for 15 mins in fan oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States