French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made these rolls at least 50 times now and they are fabulous. Only amendment I have made is reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon as 2 is too sweet for French bread. In summer when it is very dry and low humidity I need to increase the water slightly as all of our ingredients dry out. Having been a regular buyer of French bread in France I would say this is very close to the texture and the inside is so soft and fluffy. Freezes very well and keeps in plastic bag for 24-36 hours which is better than shop bought French bread. Great recipe. Cook for 15 mins in fan oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These buns are terrific and the recipe is great the way it is! The only reason it didnt get 5 stars from me is I find they go stale very quickly (2 days maximum). I have made them a couple times now and will continue to make them fresh when I want them. They are great for pulled pork sandwiches...just the right amount of chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Just finished eating one of these fresh out of the oven...yummy! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Wow...can't believe how easy this recipe is and they were so good! I followed the instructions of other reviews who, like me, don't have a bread machine. This will be a standard recipe on our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
SUPER! I make the dough on Sunday's, divide and bake on need. My family and friends love the smell of our home. I'm a hacker cook, so they are supremely impressed, and I'm equally happy to oblige. This is a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
DELICOUS!!! I made sixteen and not one survived the night. Add 3 3/4 cups flour not 4. spread corn meal in a slighty greased pan, just before baking, brush with egg whites, push a small cube of butter into the tops, season with salt, garlic/onion powder, dried chives, seasme seeds & a bit o shredded cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My family and friends all love these rolls! I followed the recipe exactly, using my bread machine to mix and knead. I did have to adjust the time in my oven to 15 minutes, but ovens do vary a bit, so I was watching closely the first time anyway. We can't wait to try the loaves and pizza dough! The crust is hard when the rolls first come out of the oven, but softens as they cool. I even love them cold and plain! Thanks so much, JOCATLIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Fantastic! I made these as bread instead of rolls and it was great! I suppose the egg wash would have been perfect for many rolls, but a bit extra left over for 2 loaves of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These delicious pan rolls turned out awesome. I had no eggs but brushed them with butter , which made for a softer crust and everyone loved them. Thanks for this quick & easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe. I've even personalized it by using flavored oils or added herbs. Be mindful of the a mounts though. It is for a two pound machine. It was quite a scene when my dough outgrew my machine. No big deal, I just adjusted the recipe to 12 servings using the handy tool provided by the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States