French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Works best in the muffin tins, but were super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The first time I made thee I used AP flour with 1 tablespoon high gluten flour to make bread flour and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were ok. A lot of work by hand and the dough is very sticky, even when you use the full 6 cups of flour. Maybe it's great if you have a bread machine... I thought they were a bit bland (I think next time I will pre-ferment as some other reviewers have suggested) and they were hard as a rock on the outside, though still fluffy inside. I would have only given 3 stars but am giving 4 because, although I set my oven for 400, it's possible that it's not accurate so maybe the temp was a bit lower than it should have been and this might have contributed to how hard they were- perhaps they could be better if they were cooked at a higher temp for a shorter amount of time, as I did bake them for a couple minutes longer than the recipe said because I wanted the tops to brown nicely and they weren't doing that even with the egg/water wash. The tops still didn't brown but I removed them when I realized how hard they were getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were exactly what I was looking for as a base for my Italian meatball subs. I followed the ingredients exactly but used the doughncycle of my bread machine through the first rising. I divided the dough into 10 pieces and rolled them into the shape of a sub/hoagies roll (about 6 - 8 inches long). After the second rising on a cookie sheet, I baked according to the rcipe. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
These are wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, with great results. I've also kneaded in fresh chopped herbs after the first rise-also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
very easy to follow and simply delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These were not "to die for" but they were tasty. I wasn't wowed by them, so I will probably not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very nice rolls. They turned out soft and chewy inside but sturdy. Perfect for Easy slow cooker french dip sandwiches from this site. Followed the recipe but shaped them into longer hot dog shaped rolls instead of round ones. Placed the ingredients in the bread machine and after the dough cycle was complete I formed the rolls, let them rise about 40 mins, then added the egg wash and baked. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
They were fabulous and so easy to make. The only thing I may do differently next time is add some sesame seeds on top and perhaps make a loaf instead of rolls. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States