French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe read like a wallpaper paste recipe. I saw the great reviews and gave it a shot. I was right. Rolls that taste like wallpaper paste. YUCK!! I am a baker and I was very disappointed and embarrassed to serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cleo
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe is great! Before making this I read the reviews, and some of them stated that the rolls were bland. I tweaked the recipe a little, adding 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 2. The dough will be really sticky and moist so I had to add more flour along the way. These are chewy and delicious. When I baked them, I placed the rolls on a piece of parchment without spraying it with cooking spray. Unfortunately, they stuck to the parchment and did not come out easily. I highly recommend spraying or buttering your pan before placing them on it. Overall, this is a great recipe and I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This recipe is easy, foolproof (unless the temperature of the yeast is too hot or cold), and gets rave reviews! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I have made like recipe states as well as in the bread maker. In bread maker I have used the dough then continued from the point of forming the rolls. I have also made as a loaf in the bread maker. They all came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These are so yummy!!!! The only thing differently I did was put the sugar, yeast and water in the oven on 170 degrees for 10 minutes, so it fermented. Amazing, can't wait to try it with the bbq pulled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
When I first made this recipe, it wasn't as melt in your mouth as how I make them now. Maybe it was my fault, the air was too dry or something, but I make them now as my second mainstay roll recipe for dinners. I use the Burger or Hot Dog Buns recipe from this site for my other roll recipe and to make awesome burger/hot dog buns. Anyway, I decided to try something different the other night. I added 3-4 T honey instead of the sugar (although not necessary) and split the dough in half. I made half into rolls and the other half into a copycat Papa Murphy's S'mores pizza (see DancingwithCinderella.com). We loved the rolls and we loved the dessert pizza--actually tastes like Papa Murphy's. So yummy! I also use my bread machine to do all the work of mixing and needing the dough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is my go-to french bread recipe. I almost never use it for rolls, instead I shape it into regular loaves. Either way you bake it (rolls or loaves) it comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely excellent and very multi-purpose!!! I've been trying to figure out a way to be able to make just enough rolls for my husband and I, since we never eat the leftovers of a fully batch. I had an idea from frozen rolls my father-in-law had used, but I still wanted the from-scratch rolls I knew I could make. OH. MY. GOODNESS. These are exactly what I've been looking for! I decided to just risk it the first time and made a double batch, and it made about 30 rolls. I shaped all the dough, put two trays of a dozen each in the freezer and cooked the rest right away. We had the fresh ones with baked potatoes and turkey loaf, then the next day I thawed a few more to eat with soup and they came out perfectly (thawed for about an hour, I put them in the oven on warm and they rise nicely). As delicious as they are plain, the one that completely sold me was this morning when I decided to try a version of monkey bread in a muffin tin. I need to tweak the cooking time and portions per muffin, but it is SO YUMMY! and I'm ecstatic that I can make monkey bread in small amounts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
These buns turned out delicious!!! I made much smaller buns for mini sandwiches and stuffed them with dressing lettuce olives and cold cuts, everybody loved them! Also after brushing them with egg white I added some sesame and black seeds which gave them a more professional look and enhanced the flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Worldly Rise
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I loved it! Instead of making rolls, I made it into two loaves. You don't need anything on it -- it's perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States