French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Pretty and easy but bland. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I make this for when I want to serve a beautiful loaf of bread, and always with soups, when I want bread to dunk, it's gorgeous, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Made as directed and came out with two beautiful looking baguette sized loaves. But I understand what other reviewers noted: there's surprisingly little flavor to this bread. Overall, bland and tasteless. Should be fine toasted up for bruschetta, but probably won't make again. Thanks for recipe tho - I'm glad I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Family favorite!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Made this dozens of times,it's my family's favorite French bread recipe. I add 2 tbls of Olive oil which helps preserve the bread for several days when properly stored. Great for sandwiches, soups,with Nuttella. So soft & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninib

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is a very good WHITE bread recipe, with a soft, tender texture, French bread should have irregular cell structure, plenty of elasticity, and chewiness. This has a nice taste, but it's tender, with small, even cell structure, and a flaky (rather than chewy) crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Perfect for subs or sandwiches and makes for great pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This bread is fantastic. I used one of the other poster's hint about wrapping the bread in foil and then a damp cloth for a softer crust. I also kneaded in 1 Tbs of butter before forming my loaf. Hint for those of you who are new to baking bread: I've recently discovered that allowing the dough to remain slightly sticky when forming your loaf yields a more tender bread than adding more flour for a stiff dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States