French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
My husband and kids LOVED this stew! The mustard makes the difference! I'll definately be adding it to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This is a delicious stew that the whole family loved. It was perfect for a cold January day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
An excellent recipe!! My husband loved it - as soon as I picked out the carrots. I served it at an informal holiday party -will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I loved this recipe. It was very easy and very, very tasty. I made it in a crockpot just because I didn't have time to make it after work, it worked out fine and like I said tasted great. My husband loved it too. You did need to thicken it up with cornstarch. I will definitely make this again, a great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I made this for my Husband (who is the pickyest eater on the face of this earth) And he had seconds!!!!! I will make this again !-Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
Very good. I added some onion powder too. The mustard gives it a little kick. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
This recipe has a very good flavor from the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
This is a super recipe! Very delicious and tangy. The addition of the mustard makes all the difference. My only complaint would be that because the flour is added at the very beginning, the resulting thickened stew has a tendency to burn over the required hour of cooking. As a result of having to stir frequently to avoid this, the beef wasn't as tender as I would have liked. I think I saw in someone's earlier review that they transfered the stew into a crockpot and finished it there. That would solve the problem, but, of course, add cooking time. Perhaps next time I'll omit the flour until the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This one is a winner. I prepared it in the oven at 300 degrees, the first two hours the meat only, then added the veggies for an additional hour--the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I am a novice cook. This stew was my first experience with beef. It was so easy even *I* had no problems with it! My husband loved it and I felt like queen of the world serving it. This domestic stuff is more fun that I thought it would be. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keystone, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States