French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Great stew served with cornbread! The mustard is awesome! Here's what I did: 2 lbs beef stew meat, 3 tblsp flour, 2 tlbsp olive oil, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can beef broth, 1/2 cup good red wine, 4 chopped carrots, 2 stalks celery, 1/2 cup mini onions, 2 cubed potatoes, 3/4 tsp dried thyme, 1 tlbsp sugar, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 2 bay leaves, 2 tlbsp Dijon mustard, pinch of basil, salt/pepper to taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
WOW! This was wonderful! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except: used only 1 can of the Italian tomatoes because I only had one. I put in an equal amount of White Zinfandel wine - used it to deglaze the pan after browning as someone else suggested. I added 2 TBSP of Worchestershire sauce because we like it. I did let the meat simmer for about an hour before adding the potatoes and carrots to ensure the meat was tender! It was DELICIOUS! This will definitely be a keeper and one that I prepare often. Plus, it is easy to prepare and takes little time except for the cooking! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTAYLOR063

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I am a novice cook. This stew was my first experience with beef. It was so easy even *I* had no problems with it! My husband loved it and I felt like queen of the world serving it. This domestic stuff is more fun that I thought it would be. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keystone, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Very good! Does have a strong dijon flavor, so if that's not for you, you may want to cut way back. Like many reviewers, I browned the meat first and put that, along with everything else in the crockpot. I didn't make any changes except adding two garlic cloves and about 1/2 lb. of fresh green beans that needed to be used. Sadly, I didn't realize I had no thyme until I was almost done making this. I bet it would be even better with thyme. The stew got nice and thick and I didn't have to add any extra flour. Was very flavorful too. My only complaint was that it was a little salty, and I used reduced-sodium broth and added no extra salt. Next time I'd use one can of salt-free tomatoes. I bet the leftovers will be great! Served with french baguettes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm very satisfying! I added some mushrooms, celery, and a dash of Worchestshire sauce. Also used some onion soup mix and Italian seasoning and added a little less mustard. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I used my instincts and added a few items, and it was fantastic. I added 1 onion (sliced into thin rings) and 1/4 cup red wine. Then with 10 minutes from the end, I added 1/2 cup frozen peas. Make sure to use Dijon - it matters. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've made it twice. The first time I added half an onion, a few fresh sliced mushrooms, and about half a cup of wine. The second time, I made the recipe almost exactly as written. Unexpectedly, I like the recipe as written much better. I thought both the flavor and the consistency was improved. Though the stew was excellent both ways. But I must have been using much tougher stew meat than the author, because I had to simmer about two hours before it was tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
So wonderful! I made the following tweaks: omitted the thyme (didn't have any), added a chopped red onion and plenty of minced garlic. Also added a splash of worchestershire and a bit of red wine per other reviews. Served with warm biscuits for dipping - even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I used red wine to deglaze the pan, as per other reviews and added an onion and more potatoes. This was my first attempt at making beef stew and was a huge hit! I think the Dijon gave it that little "something" that made it stand out. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I used my crockpot for this and it worked out great!My husband said it was okay but my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States