French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is my fav beef stew recipe! I add some red wine to it tooooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Pretty good. I will make again but will add more stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was wonderful on a cold and rainy night. The only thing I changed was I added some more potatoes for the kiddos. We all loved it with crusty french bread! The kids were worried that the meat would be chewy, but it was soft enough for their little teeth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruby_cube
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I always make a conscious effort to follow recipes the way they written first, and rate them based on this. However, I want to rate this five stars even though I changed the cooking method. After browning the meat I chucked everything in the slow cooker for 4 and a half hours on high. Kept ingredients the same. This tasted really delicious, and the meat was lovely and tender. Didn't think the mustard was overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Really delicious! I've made this stew more times than I can count. I usually serve mine over some white or brown rice with a little bit of dijon on top. Best stew I've ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary School Drop-Out

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
It was fine until the Dijon mustard was added, just before serving. We LOVE Dijon mustard on sandwiches, etc. However, in this stew, it surprisingly tasted strongly of just the vinegar in the mustard. To salvage 'the stew' with all the veggies and two pounds of tender stew meat, I literally rinsed off the sauce! And, made another totally different but delish meal, without that vinegar taste. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was very good. I like especially like the mustard in it. I added frozen green peas at the end, because I require that in a good beef stew. I also only added 1 can of tomatoes and added a little more broth. I would say the cooking time for tender beef would be about 1 1/2-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. A lot. It's easy, filling, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
i really enjoyed that (no changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanley Polley
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
SOOOO Good! I loved this recipe and so did all my co-workers who just had to try a bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States