French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy, added a dash of Worchestershire & half a can of Cherny Bock--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
everybody really enjoyed this. my fiance went for seconds, which is always a good sign. i did have to add a 2nd can of beef broth (or else there isn't enough liquid to simmer in) & 2 garlic cloves (minced). besides that it came out great... the reason i gave it 4 stars is because the dijon gave it strange smell... i think i was the only one that noticed though. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
VERY frustrating to find reviews based on changes they had made to the original recipe. As other reviewers stated this was very DISAPPOINTING--needed to cook the beef 2 hrs. for tenderness, potatoes were mushy, and the dijon overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This stew was wonderful. I am usually not a beef stew person but the flavors, especially with the mustard were fabulous. We will be making this all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is my fav beef stew recipe! I add some red wine to it tooooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Pretty good. I will make again but will add more stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was wonderful on a cold and rainy night. The only thing I changed was I added some more potatoes for the kiddos. We all loved it with crusty french bread! The kids were worried that the meat would be chewy, but it was soft enough for their little teeth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruby_cube
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I always make a conscious effort to follow recipes the way they written first, and rate them based on this. However, I want to rate this five stars even though I changed the cooking method. After browning the meat I chucked everything in the slow cooker for 4 and a half hours on high. Kept ingredients the same. This tasted really delicious, and the meat was lovely and tender. Didn't think the mustard was overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Really delicious! I've made this stew more times than I can count. I usually serve mine over some white or brown rice with a little bit of dijon on top. Best stew I've ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary School Drop-Out

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
It was fine until the Dijon mustard was added, just before serving. We LOVE Dijon mustard on sandwiches, etc. However, in this stew, it surprisingly tasted strongly of just the vinegar in the mustard. To salvage 'the stew' with all the veggies and two pounds of tender stew meat, I literally rinsed off the sauce! And, made another totally different but delish meal, without that vinegar taste. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States