French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Easy and very delicious stew! Dijon mustard is the touch that makes it happen. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great stew for a rainy night! I sauteed chopped onions and celery before adding the beef. I added some mushrooms and cilantro as well. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles the cat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe fairly closely with the following changes. I browned the beef in olive oil, without flouring first. Then I drained most of the fat, using about two tablespoons to saute my mirepoix. Then I assembled the rest of the ingredients, adding enough red wine to cover, brought the stew to a boil, then finished (covered) in the oven at 350 for about two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Home run! I usually think beef stew is boring, but I always keep my fingers crossed that I'll find the perfect recipe - this is it! I used fresh rosemary instead of thyme. I deglazed the bottom of the pan with a little bit of the beef broth after browning the meat before adding everything else. I stirred in the mustard with all the other ingredients instead of at the end. So tasty - I just wish it was winter right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is excellent! I picked up a pound of beef stew meat for super cheap, but I wasn't sure what I was going to do with it. I found this recipe and decided to give it a go, although I had to make a few changes based on what I had on hand. I only had 1 lb of meat and tossed it with the flour and lots of black pepper. I also threw in half of an onion chopped, as I didn't have any carrots in the house. I didn't have italian diced tomatoes, so I used diced tomatoes with onion and garlic and added some italian seasoning blend. I also didn't have any beef broth, so I used water and added some beef bouillon. I simmered all of that for about an hour before adding the potatoes, as some of the reviewers said that they became mushy. About 15 minutes before it was done, I added a bag of frozen green beans. So, my total cook time was about two hours. Boy, is this good! The mustard really adds a nice, unique flavor. I am freezing this in individual portions for lunches, and I can't wait! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
An easy to make stew that tastes great - even more so when reheated. I used bison (rather than beef) and added 1/3 cup Italian dressing and 1 tsp red pepper. This will be a winter staple here in Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So tasty and so easy. I added mushrooms and celery; I am sure you could add whatever you have on hand. I used a little more Dijon than called for and skipped the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Yum! This was simply fantastic. Even tho I already have a favorite stew recipe, I'll definitely be adding this one to my regular rotation. My stand-by recipe takes hours to prepare (it slow cooks all day). The fact that CORWYNN's version takes minimal time to prepare, calls for basic ingredients I generally keep on hand and takes only an hour to cook makes it a great candidate for an "on the fly" weeknight meal. Having said this, it did take about 1.5 hours to produce fork-tender meat (as is, my meat was a tad tough). Since my hubby forgot to chill our bottle of wine to serve with dinner, it worked out to our advantage to cook this an extra half hour. :) And the best part??? The dijon mustard!!!! It takes this stew to an entirely new (elevated) level. For the one reviewer who complained that adding mustard produced a vinegary tasting stew, perhaps yours was out of date??? Mustard turns to vinegar over time and certainly if it is kept past it's use by date (just a thought). DON'T leave the mustard out!!! You might as well find a recipe that better suits your taste if you do, IMHO. Served with French-style green beans and crusty Italian bread, this was a DEEELICIOUS meal. Thanks SO much for sharing CORWYNN! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was so good and flavorful! tripled up on the broth cause we like lots of juice and glad I did! The broth is Super flavorful from the thyme and mustard! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Awesome recipes! Too much mustard though. I second time I made it I only added about 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States