French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
An easy to make stew that tastes great - even more so when reheated. I used bison (rather than beef) and added 1/3 cup Italian dressing and 1 tsp red pepper. This will be a winter staple here in Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So tasty and so easy. I added mushrooms and celery; I am sure you could add whatever you have on hand. I used a little more Dijon than called for and skipped the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Yum! This was simply fantastic. Even tho I already have a favorite stew recipe, I'll definitely be adding this one to my regular rotation. My stand-by recipe takes hours to prepare (it slow cooks all day). The fact that CORWYNN's version takes minimal time to prepare, calls for basic ingredients I generally keep on hand and takes only an hour to cook makes it a great candidate for an "on the fly" weeknight meal. Having said this, it did take about 1.5 hours to produce fork-tender meat (as is, my meat was a tad tough). Since my hubby forgot to chill our bottle of wine to serve with dinner, it worked out to our advantage to cook this an extra half hour. :) And the best part??? The dijon mustard!!!! It takes this stew to an entirely new (elevated) level. For the one reviewer who complained that adding mustard produced a vinegary tasting stew, perhaps yours was out of date??? Mustard turns to vinegar over time and certainly if it is kept past it's use by date (just a thought). DON'T leave the mustard out!!! You might as well find a recipe that better suits your taste if you do, IMHO. Served with French-style green beans and crusty Italian bread, this was a DEEELICIOUS meal. Thanks SO much for sharing CORWYNN! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was so good and flavorful! tripled up on the broth cause we like lots of juice and glad I did! The broth is Super flavorful from the thyme and mustard! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Awesome recipes! Too much mustard though. I second time I made it I only added about 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Made this tonight with a couple changes. My family thought it was good but not great. The changes I made - I didn't drain the tomatoes but I reduced the broth slightly, I added minced garlic, minced onion and Italian seasonings. I also left out the mustard at the end and made garlic bread with a chef salad. It was a decent Italian style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Mad it exactly how it said except skipped the mustard because when I tasted it at the end, I couldn't imagine risking ruining it with mustard. SO satisfied!! My hubby absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Good, but a little bit bland as written. I added chopped celery and onion to the vegetables and sprinkled in garlic powder. Served with cornbread. This is a nice hearty, stick to the ribs kind of meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
The meat took longer to cook, probably 90 minutes. The mustard was a great addition. I only had veggie broth and needed to add quite a bit of salt. This would probably be better in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome! So good! And if you don't like the mustard, just don't add it. We also have this with some egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States