French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome Recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! I will be making more of this, and adding my own tweaks to the recipe as well. I've already made this again, and added more potatoes and carrots, as well as marjoram, sage, basil, and rosemary. I also found spicy brown mustard to compliment it very well, since I didn't have any dijon mustard for the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Made this recipe EXACTLY as is and it's amazing! Served with crusty French bread -- this will be a new rotation in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This stew turned out OK, not bad but not nearly as amazingly delicious as I had hoped..It's a bit bland, even with the dijon. Some red chili pepper flakes and sweet potatoes might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very tasty. Nice to have a bit of a taste variation on the classic beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Not great. But not awful. Kids hated it, husband ate it out of sympathy and I ate it cause I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Easy and very delicious stew! Dijon mustard is the touch that makes it happen. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great stew for a rainy night! I sauteed chopped onions and celery before adding the beef. I added some mushrooms and cilantro as well. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles the cat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe fairly closely with the following changes. I browned the beef in olive oil, without flouring first. Then I drained most of the fat, using about two tablespoons to saute my mirepoix. Then I assembled the rest of the ingredients, adding enough red wine to cover, brought the stew to a boil, then finished (covered) in the oven at 350 for about two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Home run! I usually think beef stew is boring, but I always keep my fingers crossed that I'll find the perfect recipe - this is it! I used fresh rosemary instead of thyme. I deglazed the bottom of the pan with a little bit of the beef broth after browning the meat before adding everything else. I stirred in the mustard with all the other ingredients instead of at the end. So tasty - I just wish it was winter right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States