French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nicole P.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very simple, tasty recipe. I added slices mushrooms, large sliced sweet onion, and some fresh garlic cloves. After frying the beef, I deglazed the pan with red wine (cab sav). Also, I used fresh thyme. Easy to customize, I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I did toss the cubes of beef in a mix of flour, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Didn't put the veggies in yet and cooked for an hr. Then I added all the veggies plus onion and celery plus bay leaves. Cooked that for another hr and also added a corn starch slurry to thicken it. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very tasty. I was unsure about the Dijon mustard, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My kids helped me make this super-easy, super-delish stew and they're devouring it! I substituted a gluten-free all-purpose flour for this recipe. Tonight my tummy will be as satisfied as my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I added cannelloni beans and used three TBS of dijion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Best beef stew I've eaten! Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I used venison and added about a cup of white wine. The husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Loved it! I added onion and garlic to cook with the beef and then used parsnips instead of potatoes. Some times I do add a Tablespoon of sugar if the tomatoes make it too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Really Good !!! I used venison because I had it on hand and I added onion. The Dijon mustard gave it some zip !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daveboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was really tasty! I deglazed the pan with port wine (it was handy!), and added green beans in the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I cooked it for 1.5 hours and the meat was very tender. Lots of left over gravy, I think I will bump up the meat to 2# next time, and add double the potatoes and carrots. I used my homemade beef bone broth in this, really made for a robust gravy. Super meal for the sub-zero weather we're having right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States