French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is a delicious stew. I've made it twice. The first time I made it exactly as it appears. The second time I added cut green beans instead of celery only because i did't have celery and I added about a tablespoon or so of worcestershire sauce. Wonderful both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I used fresh tomatoes because I needed to use them up, added half an onion because I also needed to use it up, and deglazed with 1/2 cup white wine and 1 TBS worcestshire. Crock pot for about 8 hrs on low and it was great! Be sure to check the seasoning at the end. Once I adjusted the flavors, I thought it was amazing! Great stew recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Served this tonight with fresh out of the oven home-made pain de campagne and my family swooned over it. That is, grown man, control freak 5 year old and finnicky toddler...and I confess, my puppy liked it too. As always we have our own variations, and I added 2/3 cups of red wine to the mix (in between steps two and three) and dialed down the tomatoes...I only had three fresh roma tomatoes at hand, so I went with it. I also let it simmer on super low for about two hours. All in all, my husband says its the best thing I ever made. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made as directed except added a little worcestershire sauce-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
LOVED this dish, great for a cold night, My folks loved it too and my dad is a very fussy eater. I added an onion and instead of potatoes I used sweet potato.... very very nice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Loved this pretty much as is! Found it flavorful and my husband and I both liked it. You can taste the mustard so if you don't like mustard this might not be for you. The only things I changed was I used diced tomatoes that were flavored with rosemary and oregano. And I halved the recipe because I didn't have that much meat, but wasn't sure exactly how many lbs it was so ended up adding a tiny bit more mustard and thyme because I thought it might need it. Also cooked it for 40 min instead of an hour because we were starving and the meat was fine, but would have been better after an hour I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks. I used 2+ pounds of beef, white yams instead of potatoes, more thyme and cooked it in a 3.5 qt slow cooker on High for 4hrs then scooped out some liquid. I put the veggies in and cooked on high for another 1.5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Tasty beef stew recipe, and I don't particularly like beef stew. I would recommend marinating the beef though. The stew has nice flavors but if you get a larger piece of beef then beef flavor just overwhelms everything in your mouth, granted the beef was super tender, and if you like the taste of beef then that's probably a good thing. Perhaps a marinade with dijon mustard playing a major role to get a bit more of that flavor incorporated into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OMG this is good! I followed the recipe pretty closely but I did season the flour with salt, pepper and garlic powder before I brownded the meat , and added an onion when I added the veggies after letting the meat simmer for an hour first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome Recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States