French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Best beef stew I've eaten! Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I used venison and added about a cup of white wine. The husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Loved it! I added onion and garlic to cook with the beef and then used parsnips instead of potatoes. Some times I do add a Tablespoon of sugar if the tomatoes make it too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Really Good !!! I used venison because I had it on hand and I added onion. The Dijon mustard gave it some zip !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daveboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was really tasty! I deglazed the pan with port wine (it was handy!), and added green beans in the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I cooked it for 1.5 hours and the meat was very tender. Lots of left over gravy, I think I will bump up the meat to 2# next time, and add double the potatoes and carrots. I used my homemade beef bone broth in this, really made for a robust gravy. Super meal for the sub-zero weather we're having right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I've made this a few times and it's always a big hit. The only addition I make is about 2 tbs of tomato paste because I use a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a nice change of pace from the stew I usually make. We realy enjoyed how the dijon gave it a nice tang. The beef wasn't as tender as I normally like. To fix that problem, next time I will simmer the beef with the tomatoes and beef broth for an hour, then add the potatoes and carrots and simmer for another hour, or until the vegetables are done. I was out of thyme, so I used savory instead and it worked really well. I also threw in a chopped onion and ended up using about 3 teaspoons of dijon instead of the 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great, Ive never had stew with dijon in it before, but it does add a nice tang. I ended up letting it simmer for about 3hours, only because I had the time and it was cold. I also subbed baby carrots because I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe and easy. I just realized I forgot to add the mustard, in the end....next time. I also had to substitute chicken broth for the beef and I added some mushrooms. Very tasty and easy. I coated the beef with flour as written and browned in vegetable oil before throwing everything in the crock pot as other reviewers suggested. Then cooked about 8 hours on low. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Robust flavor, perfect on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States