French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
It was an ok recipe. I think the mustard was too much. My husband didn't like it at all and I thought it was ok. 3/5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This stew is very good. I did alter it basically by only adding the following vegetables. Besides the Italian tomatoes, I added chopped onion and garlic, corn, green beans, peas, carrots and potatoes. I didn't have the dijon mustard so that wasn't added. I also cooked it for 3 hrs on a low heat so the meat would be very tender and it turned out excellent! It's one hearty stew during the cold winter days and I feel one way to get all your veggies in, so all in all, pretty healthy too. By adding all the other ingredients, I ended up with some to freeze for another time. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Such a versatile soup to "play" with. Reading the reviews gives such good ideas. It was soo good (and i even forgot the mustard. Next time, i will add onion and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Awesome. The only change I made was to deglaze the pan with some red wine--mostly because I needed an excuse to open a bottle of red wine. ;) I only added 1T of mustard because I wasn't sure how it would taste, but will definitely add more next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I followed recipe except I added 2 celery stalks, used 2 lbs of beef, and cooked in crockpot on high for 4 hours. This was really good and I will make again. Next time I will only use 1 tablespoon of the dijon mustard; it was just a little to overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is such an easy recipe! Made this on a whim and will definitely end up making this again. I added some wostershire and red wine like some others suggested. The mustard adds such a unique flavor. Definitely give this recipe a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It doesn't get much better than this, I always ad mushrooms, but other than that it's absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
To be honest I wasn't at all wild about the taste, but the family seemed to enjoy it well enough, I won't be making this again personally, but it's a good soup recipe anyway, just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Very tasty. It did not make 8 servings. My husband and I are "good" eaters, it only made one meal (husband had second helping, which he should not have eaten). Used frozen home grown tomatoes instead of the 2 cans of italian style tom. I let the liquids cook down a little and it made a more hearty meal. Next time I will fix some sides with it, maybe we can get a second meal out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Yum. Yum. Yum. I also added one small yellow onion, cut into large pieces. 1/2 cup red wine, and I used less oil while braising the beef so I could throw in a teaspoon of butter before tossing in the cubes. This was excellent. My husband and I are foodies. And impressing him is no easy task. He's a bit of a snob really. He loved this. This recipe has now excited him about this website and he's now decided to add some of his own recipes on! So, if you like good, simple, yet bold flavors melded together, this is a good recipe for you. don't forget the dijon. An addition that goes far! Thank you Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcinhdg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States