French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great Stew. We've made it in the crock pot several times on a Sunday. Served it with crusty bread and a salad, delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Thanks for sharing! I substituted some pork scotch fillet since that was all i had. It turned out so tender and delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very easy to prepare, and doesn't require a lot of ingredients. The end result is fabulous, and was a big hit in our home. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I just didn't like it. Not the right flavors for me. I had to bribe the kids to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was pretty good but I felt it could use a little more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Pretty good stew. I did this in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours. Tender meat and veggies....Easy to put together and forget about it. Family enjoyed...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Fabulous! I have made beef stew many times using many recipes, but this one is a hit. I coated the beef stew meat with half flour and half masa harina, a little trick from another recipe on this site, Southwestern Chicken Roulade. I also added garlic powder and Adobo seasoning, which has salt, pepper, and yes, more garlic! Seared that in the pan, then I removed the meat and put in one sliced onion and sauteed that for a bit before adding sliced mushrooms, which I then sauteed that for a few minutes more before deglazing the pan with some white wine I had left over from the night before. I put the meat, potatoes, and carrots back in the pot along with the beef broth and 1 can of tomatoes (garlic and onion), and thyme and cooked over low heat for a few hours. Just before serving, I added green beans and the Dijon mustard and didn't need to add any extra salt and pepper. This went over very well and no one could taste the Dijon although they admitted it was different than traditional beef stew. My husband loved the way the meat cooked and I do think the masa harina is what keeps the meat moist on the inside so I will definitely do that again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I've made this stew recipe quite a few times before seeing it here on AR - I have to say it's just about my favorite. But this time I added mushrooms as others had and since I was only using 1 pound of beef stew meat, I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes - not Italian - I did not want the basil/oregano flavors to compete with the Dijon and thyme. Just added some garlic powder to the flour that coated the meat. And I simmered for probably 2 hours. Made this for guests and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have been making recipe this since 2007. It's a family favorite, with our own spin of course: I load it up with extra vegetables: onions, potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans, peas, and even mushrooms or parsnips from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Pretty good! The mustard is a must. I used cornmeal instead of flour but it was really good. My three-year-old even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States