French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Pretty good stew. I did this in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours. Tender meat and veggies....Easy to put together and forget about it. Family enjoyed...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Fabulous! I have made beef stew many times using many recipes, but this one is a hit. I coated the beef stew meat with half flour and half masa harina, a little trick from another recipe on this site, Southwestern Chicken Roulade. I also added garlic powder and Adobo seasoning, which has salt, pepper, and yes, more garlic! Seared that in the pan, then I removed the meat and put in one sliced onion and sauteed that for a bit before adding sliced mushrooms, which I then sauteed that for a few minutes more before deglazing the pan with some white wine I had left over from the night before. I put the meat, potatoes, and carrots back in the pot along with the beef broth and 1 can of tomatoes (garlic and onion), and thyme and cooked over low heat for a few hours. Just before serving, I added green beans and the Dijon mustard and didn't need to add any extra salt and pepper. This went over very well and no one could taste the Dijon although they admitted it was different than traditional beef stew. My husband loved the way the meat cooked and I do think the masa harina is what keeps the meat moist on the inside so I will definitely do that again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I've made this stew recipe quite a few times before seeing it here on AR - I have to say it's just about my favorite. But this time I added mushrooms as others had and since I was only using 1 pound of beef stew meat, I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes - not Italian - I did not want the basil/oregano flavors to compete with the Dijon and thyme. Just added some garlic powder to the flour that coated the meat. And I simmered for probably 2 hours. Made this for guests and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have been making recipe this since 2007. It's a family favorite, with our own spin of course: I load it up with extra vegetables: onions, potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans, peas, and even mushrooms or parsnips from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Pretty good! The mustard is a must. I used cornmeal instead of flour but it was really good. My three-year-old even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This stew was great but not at all what I expected. I had thoughts prior to making it that the Italian style tomatoes may take over the taste due to there being two cans of them in it. I was right. I couldn't taste the Dijon at all, even though I put the two tablespoons it called for and was expecting it to be over powering from various other reviews that have made this. I also added mushrooms, carrots, celery and potatoes to make it a little bit hardier. All and all, it was really good and got great reviews from my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I prepared this in the slow cooker by flouring and browning the meat first then adding it and all the other ingredients into the crockpot and letting it cook on low all day. I did add minced garlic and additional seasonings and I felt it still needed something upon tasting when it was done cooking. If I had some I would have added red wine to kick the flavor up a bit. I will keep this one in the rotation and make a note to add the red wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
It was an ok recipe. I think the mustard was too much. My husband didn't like it at all and I thought it was ok. 3/5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This stew is very good. I did alter it basically by only adding the following vegetables. Besides the Italian tomatoes, I added chopped onion and garlic, corn, green beans, peas, carrots and potatoes. I didn't have the dijon mustard so that wasn't added. I also cooked it for 3 hrs on a low heat so the meat would be very tender and it turned out excellent! It's one hearty stew during the cold winter days and I feel one way to get all your veggies in, so all in all, pretty healthy too. By adding all the other ingredients, I ended up with some to freeze for another time. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Such a versatile soup to "play" with. Reading the reviews gives such good ideas. It was soo good (and i even forgot the mustard. Next time, i will add onion and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States