French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have made this stew many times. My family loves it. I don't make many changes. I add a little red wine, onions, and garlic, I use Kitchen Basics beef stock. Thanks Corwynn. This is a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
The best beef stew I've ever had! I add carrots and celery as well as the rest of the ingredients. I have been making it for years now and people always LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Sorry but i did not care for this recipe at all. Followed it exactly as written but only enjoyed the French bread and butter I served with it. Here's the interesting part--my husband thought it was very good . Go figure!!! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is one great stew. I discovered the recipe years ago, and it has been my go-to beef stew recipe ever since. I generally make it as stated, the only changes are that I use fire-roasted tomatoes instead - I love the slightly smokey flavor they add to the stew, and that I use half butter, half oil to brown the meat. To make it healthier (=smuggle in more vegetables for my picky son to eat), I add more vegetables, depending on what's in season. I found that green beens and mushrooms make a perfect addition to this. I also love the flavor the mustard gives to it. If you like it a bit on the spicy notes, add a finely chopped up hot pepper, that gives it another nice twist. The best thing about this is how easy and quick it is. Plus, my very picky son loves this stew as well, despite all the veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Outstanding. Put a big smile on the wife's face!!! Used very precisely trimmed venison, salt n pepper flour sautéed in olive oil with fresh garlic cloves. Be careful to not over cook. Added small amount of bay leaf, thyme, red wine and oregano. Also added mushrooms. Forgive me but had to put a southern twist and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Wow! This is an amazing recipe! I used gluten free flour and browned the meat prior to placing all ingredients in the crockpot. Cooked for one hour on high, then six more on low. Meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender and sauce was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Followed it down to the mustard. My wife is allergic to Dijon so I added 1 tbsp of regular mustard and a shake or two of worcestershire. The meat was tender at the one hour mark for me so I did not run into the same problems with time as some of the other posters. Along with the stew I grilled up a couple of my rendition of Panera Fontina sandwiches and enjoyed a hearty meal on an uncharacteristic snowy night in southern Virginia. We both loved it and will be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this tonight because we here in Texas were experiencing another 'severe cold-weather storm,' so it seemed the best recipe for such shocking cold (to us Southerners). With a family of 7 to feed, I doubled the recipe and as it cooked I went about my routine of unwinding. When it was done, I told the husband and 5 teenagers to grab a bowl and I would be in shortly. HUGE mistake. When I made it to the kitchen, approximately 12 minutes later, my 20 year-old was on his second bowl and hubby was on the way to his. I had one bowl. ONE BOWL. It was superb, but not nearly enough for my disrespectful family; next time I will triple it. The only thing I did differently than what the recipe called for was add herbs de province. Delicious and warming and most definitely a keeper. Every one of the family members raved, which is a rare thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsfoolery74
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole P.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very simple, tasty recipe. I added slices mushrooms, large sliced sweet onion, and some fresh garlic cloves. After frying the beef, I deglazed the pan with red wine (cab sav). Also, I used fresh thyme. Easy to customize, I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States