French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Husband and I liked it. The kids?... not so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
made this in the crock pot. browned the meat and deglazed the pan with stock before putting it in to simmer all day. hearty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoyo
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was so good yummies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
There was a sour flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Somerset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent! We did make some adds like Onion and Parsnips, added two more potatoes (ours were small), and cut back on the Djion mustard to three Tsp. We let it simmer for an hour and thirty minutes because we had the time. This is a great recipe and one we will turn to again, adding some more Djion next time around. Thanks for this excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very Delicious recipe! However, 1 Hour is definitely not enough time if you want super soft meat and potatoes. I browned the beef first in a pan then put all of the ingredients in my crockpot and let it cook on high for 1 hour then on low for 4 hours. I added the mustard at the end just before serving it. My family and I LOVED the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Grove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The only I did different to this recipe is the addition of 1 stalk of celery....other than that, I followed this recipe exactly. Oh my goodness! Delicious and so simple! Thanks for sharing this recipe because it's fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Outstanding! Made this to eat after a day of hiking in the cold, was perfect. Thought the mustard sounded very strange so just put it on the table to let people add a bit to their bowl if they wanted and everyone agreed it made it even more delicious and that I should definitely just add it next time. I didn't make any changes except for adding a bag of frozen peas. It did take a bit longer than an hour to cook down though. Will definitely be making this a winter staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldeutsch33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It's been a while since I made this recipe, but I remember that it was fantastic. It's similar enough to the beef stew I grew up eating to still have a 'comfort food' feel, yet has enough of it's own flair to not just be the same old thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have made this stew many times. My family loves it. I don't make many changes. I add a little red wine, onions, and garlic, I use Kitchen Basics beef stock. Thanks Corwynn. This is a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States