French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Where did my bread go. All i can say is that in a matter of 20 minutes both baguettes were gone. Vanished in thin air. Everyone loved this bread so much they begged for more. Next time I will make 4 times the recipe and freeze to have some on hand at our next pasta night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natgagnon1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
A good basic recipe. The yolks are the crispy crumb agent when cooking, same can be accomplished (and results in a darker crumb) by putting a small container of wafer on the bottom of the oven during bake. (I also recommend using a table spoon of salt and storing the first knead/rise in the fridge overnight to develop the glutens). Also important if using a non-convection oven: Cook as high in the oven as possible. The temperature is more stable and the crumb will be exponentially better. Also, standard yeast can be used if stored in the fridge overnight to develop the glutens. I prefer this method because the dough seems to work better for freezing. Follow the recipe as noted but after final shaping and before second rise go directly to freezer. Handy trick is to freeze first and then vacuum pack the dough. Lasts 10 times longer. And this only works if you have a deep freezer (frost free doesn't work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe! Quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
LOVE this bread! Yeast is my fear in the kitchen, but with a bread machine to help out, this was wonderful! When I make a yeast recipe I follow the recipe exactly, which I did with this one. When I checked in the bread machine after it had mixed for about 10 minutes I knew the dough was too wet so I added an additional 1/3 cup bread flour. That seemed to be the right amount. This dough was very easy to work with and formed great loaves. I used the bread to make 'The Munroe Melt' a sandwich recipe from AR. The bread worked perfectly. Glad I tried this one and I will be making it again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very easy to make and it turned out darn near perfect and was a hit with our dinner company tonight...We'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chimod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I must admit, I was skeptical that such a simple recipe could turn out such beautiful, and perfectly textured loaves. I do not have a bread machine, so I used my stand mixer to do the mixing/kneading. These are amazing, We had one loaf tonight with our spaghetti, I put garlic butter and mozzarella on the halves and toasted them. Wonderful. I think with the leftover loaf I am going to make bruschetta. This is going to be my permanent recipe for french bread. This is truly that amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband LOVES bread. Well, actually, my whole family does but he just loves it a little more. My bread rose just fine both times and it wasn't too sticky, but then I just knead the bread with flour until it feels right normally instead of using exact measurements. I did it all by hand instead of in a machine. I doubled the recipe, made three loaves from it and froze one of the loaves. I think next time I will make four loaves and make them shorter. Even the frozen loaf turned out really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I did it,it was amazing, I did some mistakes but after all I liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Used this for meatball sub. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Probably the best bread I've ever made! These baguettes were light and soft with a slightly chewy crust. The egg yolk wash gives them a nice color. Made dough in the bread machine and used active dry yeast in place of instant (bread machine) yeast. Served with potato soup and it was the perfect combination. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States