French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Shegitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Perfect. I followed the recipe pretty much in its entirety. The only things I did different were scrambling an egg for the egg wash, sprinkling with Italian herbs, and adding a bit of water to the oven while baking. The baguettes were delicious straight out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Easy & it came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is amazing! I am so glad I made a triple batch, because now I can share. I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook to do all the kneading, followed the ingredients list, except used egg whites on top. Consistency was great, not too sticky for the mixer, but if hand kneading, it probably would have been. I will definitely make these again...soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great easy recipe, but does NOT remind me of french bread. Perfect for hoagies/subs. I proof the yeast in the water and sugar then used my food processor to knead the dough. Once I substituted 1 cup of bread flour with whole wheat and added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten and it was marvelous. I recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Like some others, I cut the dough into 3 pieces instead of two, and it worked out fine. While rolling up the 3 loaves, I really hammered on the dough to get all the air out, and it STILL came out fluffy and soft in the middle, and perfectly crunchy on the outside. Not tough at all. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
tasted good. My flaw was I forgot to let it rise that last time. It turned out too Dense but I could see why everyone like it. I am going to try it again correctly. I would say that my in experience in bread making was the problem here not the recipe. I also used honey instead of sugar just because I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is my new go to recipe!! Excellent! Came out crusty on the outside with a nice soft fluffy inside. My husband, daughter and I finished the first loaf in about 15 minutes!! Can't wait to make this again...probably tomorrow!! I would give this 10 stars if there were more!! Go ahead and make this bread, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
OMG I super like this recipe. I been looking for a recipe and finally I found it. Thank you so much. Im in love with my "PAN". My kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing, however, I would make a few changes! First of all, for those who don't have a bread machine: mix warm water with the yeast + sugar, let it sit for about 10 minutes. Then add the flour and salt and knead for about 4-5 minutes. Place the dough in a greased bowl and let rise for about 30-40 minutes. Then follow the rest of the recipe as recommended. As for the adjustment: I suggest using 2 3/4 cup bread flour and egg whites topping instead of egg yolks. This allows for a crisper crust! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States