French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I don't use a bread machine and this recipe is still excellent. Personally, I like my baguette to have a bit more of a bite, so I doubled the salt, and it was perfect for my taste. So I give it 5 whole, happy stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I found I needed a little bit more flour to make it not as sticky. But the end product was REALLY good! I actually turned the oven to 400 degrees (instead of 375) and cooked it in 17 minutes. It was beautiful golden brown and nice and soft inside. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise Marie Malm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This bread was perfect! It was a little sticky, but, after the first rise in the bowl I kneaded it a little with some flour before rolling out into the rectangle and it worked fine. The crust was not ultra crunchy, but, it was slightly crunchy with a chewy interior which is exactly how I expect a French loaf to be. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made it 3 times already, I followed the exact recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
The best way I've found to get "crunch" is to spray with water every so often while baking the loaves. If you want soft (us oldsters sometimes need softer crust), brush tops with melted butter when you take them from the oven. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Photo by Lena
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I make this bread quite often without a breadmaker. It is quick and easy. My family loves it no matter whether I do a wash of egg yolk, egg white or no wash at all. It is just soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahomet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I took the advice of another reader and used my kitchen aid. Uh, no...It rose on the first rise, then not at all on the second. I baked it and it is fit for the birds! My mistake to not follow the original recipe, so I rated it a 4. Go with the recipe. Don't use the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I can't say they turned out as pretty as you'd get in a Parisian boulangerie, but I did OK for my first time making baguettes, and they tasted lovely! I followed the recipe to the letter, using my bread machine (I LOVE that thing), except that it took a bit longer for my bread to rise but that could be because it's 6*F outside and our furnace is broken (cold kitchen). Great recipe which I will definitely make again---thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
WOW!!!!! Only thing different was I had to add an extra couple of tablespoon of water. As the dough was mixing, looked chalky like the dough would not form. The result was amazing! The dough was easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States