French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Not sure why it is too sticky as there is a DIFFERENCE between French Bread and French Baguettes. I found it absolutely amazing. I did one thing different, as I was in my baking mode. I decided for a twist to braid the bread instead (cut 2 lines, even widths so you have 3 pieces, and leave 2 inches at the top uncut. Tucked and sealed. Baked it. Took me a little longer to bake, which is surprising as I am in the mountains and usually have a lesser time on baking (elevation does count). Well, lets just say I cheated and I put it all in the breadmaker on "dough" cycle. Had some fun braiding and baked in oven. To make funnier, it was only my husband and I last night, kids at grandma's. He ate 3/4 of the loaf! Keep stretching the dough out, you can bring it to the length of the pan. I greased the pan too. I use olive oil for cardiac friendly recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Excellent Recipe!! I followed the recipe to a T. I did add some ice cubes to the bottom of my heated oven prior to putting the loaves in. I will ABSOLUTELY make this again. Crust was nice, chewy, and crispy. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Beautiful soft inside and a little bit crispy on top, and that was without egg wash! thank you for a super recipe... i went between the original recipe and divine health's...... great recipe and great tips. the best i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My oldest just returned from France as a French exchange student. She said that they had baguette with lunch and dinner everyday. She said she even saw a baguette vending machine! So, I new I wanted to find a baguette recipe that would be easy. This recipe is simple, easy and my family loves the results. The baguettes turn out soft on the inside and lightly crusty on the outside. I also love that the ingredient list is so simple. No dough enhancers, fat, and less sugar than my sandwich bread that I make. I love using my bread maker for this. I put the ingredients in the pan and put the timer on depending on how my day is looking. The bread machine does all the work. I just roll out the dough and bake it. Voila! Fresh soft delicious baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFreicook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Shegitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Perfect. I followed the recipe pretty much in its entirety. The only things I did different were scrambling an egg for the egg wash, sprinkling with Italian herbs, and adding a bit of water to the oven while baking. The baguettes were delicious straight out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Easy & it came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is amazing! I am so glad I made a triple batch, because now I can share. I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook to do all the kneading, followed the ingredients list, except used egg whites on top. Consistency was great, not too sticky for the mixer, but if hand kneading, it probably would have been. I will definitely make these again...soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great easy recipe, but does NOT remind me of french bread. Perfect for hoagies/subs. I proof the yeast in the water and sugar then used my food processor to knead the dough. Once I substituted 1 cup of bread flour with whole wheat and added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten and it was marvelous. I recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Like some others, I cut the dough into 3 pieces instead of two, and it worked out fine. While rolling up the 3 loaves, I really hammered on the dough to get all the air out, and it STILL came out fluffy and soft in the middle, and perfectly crunchy on the outside. Not tough at all. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,034) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States