French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I have used this recipe multiple times to make french bread, adding fresh herbs from my garden like basil or rosemary. Right now I am making something new with it: Goulash stuffed inside with this recipe braided around it. The only thing I am consistently noticing is that the dough is a bit moist. I am always adding more flour at various stages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Excellent! Substituted some of the flour with ultra grain and such but otherwise made as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious!!! I left out the egg wash. Next time I will double the recipe as the loaves were small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Love, love, love! I make this recipe at least once a week...all my family and friends love it and ask for it all of the time. Thank you for a great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hermanson
Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I liked it allot the problem was it was a little flat when I baked it and the dough was kind of sticky after the first rise, no big deal I just added a little bit more flour. Overall a very great recipe and will be making this again tonight :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was really easy to make and tasted great! I didn't change it one bit and it turned out perfectly. I may have rolled it too thin which made it really crunchy on the outside, which I liked, but it was still soft on the inside. I did cook it on preheated stoneware which I thin helps a lot. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This bread came out great the second time I made it. The first time that failed was my own fault, not realizing that the first rise was already done in my bread machine. I added a few tablespoons flour while it was kneading in the bread machine because it looked a bit sticky, and it turned out perfectly. Made two small loaves of French bread which had a nice crust outside and a soft, chewy inside. Get the ingredients measured just right, and make sure you check on it while it kneads because humidity or the lack of it could cause you to need more flour or more water, but overall, this recipe worked very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The bread was o.k. as far as bread goes, but not really what I would consider a great baguette. No holes and too soft of an exterior. Sticking with my old tried and true baguette recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Made it for the first time and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.fan
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Awesome and flexible. You don't really need to do the egg wash finish. You can, it makes a nice pretty finish, but if you don't it still tastes awesome. This is my husband's favorite. I try to make it often. I usually triple the recipe, make a big fat loaf, and bake it all together. It turns out really big, and really yummy. :) And I don't have a bread maker, so I just follow what one would normally do when making bread (yeast, water, and sugar first...), and follow the ingredients used here. I've made it for parties, friends, get togethers, and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States