French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Reem.M
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I failed because i didn't knead the dough, the dough didn't rise and the bread turn out very small and dense .. But it taste good though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love bread, but am VERY new to making it myself (this is my third loaf). I had a little problem with it being very watery coming out of the machine, but I added about a half cup of flour and it was saved! This is soooooo tasty. I planned on freezing one but even my daughter who hates bread is killing it! There will be none left within the next 30 minutes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavor and texture on the inside but I would like a crunchier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I rate the ingredient ratio 5 stars but the cooking instructions a 2. If you want a bakery-worthy baguette that's crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside follow the advice of another reviewer. Make the dough with the bread flour, salt, sugar, yeast, and water as instructed. Form the loaves by hand (I make 2 baguettes) then let them rise an additional 30 mins. But then DO NOT brush them with egg and water and cook at such a low temp. Gross! Instead, preheat the oven to 450 degrees F with a bowl of water placed at the bottom of the oven. Cut diagonal lines across the top of the bread, then place the sheet with the loaves on the top rack and bake for 15 mins, then remove the bowl of water and bake for an additional 5 mins. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Amazing, this was my first time ever making bread and it came out amazing! I didn't even have time to take a picture it was devoured so quickly! I will defiantly make this again! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Great, easy recipe. I like to use milk instead of water for the dough, which makes for a slightly richer bread as well as helping to get a good brown on the exterior. I also cut out some work and wastage by using a whole beaten egg for the wash instead of separating yolk from white. This recipe does not truly require a bread machine; the yeast and sugar can be dissolved in the water in one bowl, the dry ingredients combined in the other and the two incorporated by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Loved this! Super easy and perfectly sized. My boys ate the first loaf warm from the oven. Good things this makes 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The best! This recipe makes great Pepperoni Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I regularly make these, it's very easy and satisfying, great for sandwiches or to eat with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States