French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this from the printed recipe in my Allrecipes magazine. The amounts of flour called for in the magazine and on the website differ. I did not make this in a bread machine, but I make bread all the time and that should not make a difference. I liked the flavor of this, but just did not like the consistency. My loaves came our heavy, almost pretzel like. I don't understand all the five-star ratings. I think I will keep looking for a french baguette recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valkira
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Great french bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmyer
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It's fantastic! I followed the recipe the first time and it was great. The next time I added rosemary and Italian seasoning. It was even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Awesome! I can't believe these came out of my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somers, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I did not use a bread machine. I did NOT find it necessary to roll the dough into a sheet. When I the dough out of the greased bowl, I just cut it in half and roll it to the shape of the picture. Made the cuts, let it rise, egg wash, and baked as described. Once, I made it using bread flour then I made it a second time, using half multigrain flour and half bread flour. It came out just as good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reem.M
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I failed because i didn't knead the dough, the dough didn't rise and the bread turn out very small and dense .. But it taste good though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love bread, but am VERY new to making it myself (this is my third loaf). I had a little problem with it being very watery coming out of the machine, but I added about a half cup of flour and it was saved! This is soooooo tasty. I planned on freezing one but even my daughter who hates bread is killing it! There will be none left within the next 30 minutes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavor and texture on the inside but I would like a crunchier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I rate the ingredient ratio 5 stars but the cooking instructions a 2. If you want a bakery-worthy baguette that's crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside follow the advice of another reviewer. Make the dough with the bread flour, salt, sugar, yeast, and water as instructed. Form the loaves by hand (I make 2 baguettes) then let them rise an additional 30 mins. But then DO NOT brush them with egg and water and cook at such a low temp. Gross! Instead, preheat the oven to 450 degrees F with a bowl of water placed at the bottom of the oven. Cut diagonal lines across the top of the bread, then place the sheet with the loaves on the top rack and bake for 15 mins, then remove the bowl of water and bake for an additional 5 mins. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States