French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this recipe was told by a guest that it was "the best dessert" they had ever had. :) I did have to bake it longer though I did multiply the recipe about a dozen times. A little time consuming, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow - well worth the effort! I made this tart as directed and ended up with a stunning dessert that tasted as good as it looked. The recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE! DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING IN THIS RECIPE. IT IS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. DO NOT USE ANY VANILLA OR ALMOND EXTRACTS - BUY A SMALL BOTTLE OF GOOD QUALITY APPLE BRANDY. I USED GOLDEN DELICIOUS APPLES AND COOKED 5 MINUTES LONGER. MY HUSBAND WANTS THIS EVERY WEEK NOW! THIS IS A VERY VERY SPECIAL TART - 5 STARS++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It's my first time making a tart and it turned out beautifully! We have a CSA with our local farmer's market and I really wanted to make a dessert with the beautiful mountain apples we got. I definitely recommend using different kinds of apples in the same pastry for added interest (I think I used three different kinds of apples!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made it for a family dinner and it was a big hit! I definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
great recipe--exactly what i was looking for! alterations included using a pillsbury pre-made crust (sorry), 2 large apples sliced thin, 3/4 c. ground almonds, only 1 egg, a 1 T. of vanilla vodka. i found that, in order to get a nice golden brown top, the baking time was closer to 40 minutes in my oven. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
To give this recipe the credit it deserves, it looked beautiful and the crust was amazing (I'll be using it again). I did not realize however, how sweet it would be (much too sweet!) Also, the almond flavor was very strong, so if you don't really like marzipan (like my husband), you probably won't like the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Mon Dieu! I really felt like I was eating something from a little French patisserie (and trust me, I ate most of it myself!)! I baked this in an oven which, as it turned out, bakes at 20 degrees lower than it's set to. Despite that, I just kept it in longer, and while the sugar didn't carmelize and the apples were a bit stiff, it was still amaaaazing! The crust is precisely perfect in every way. I can't wait to bake it in an accurate oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fig Muffins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I thought the frangipane could have had more of an almond taste to it. Next time I think I'll add some almond extract to it. The sugar on top never carmelized, either. I ended up sprinkling on some brown sugar to add some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is to DIE for, I do not have any more words to say!!!!! Thanks ** The second time it came out way better than the first time!! I did NOT use the baking sheet, I cooked it 15 minutes at 400 and then 30 minutes at 360. The first time it was not cooked all the way**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States