French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janis
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fantastic! I'll definitely make this again. It was easy, elegant and tasty. Thank you, Wurzeltree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This tart was outstanding! I cheated and bought frozen piecrust to save time... but it came out delisious. I substituted 1 tsp of almond extract for the brandy. I think maybe I would use 3/4 tsp next time as it was a little strong... but for anyone who was saying this recipe was a little bland I recommend using almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Fabulous! I added pears with the apples and liked it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
this was amazing!! the best apple tart / pie i have ever eaten. the frangipane was subtle but i liked it that way so that it didn't overpower the apples. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made two of these for a co-worker's birthday. I did not want to purchase apple brandy, so I substituted 1 tsp. almond extract to enhance the almond flavor. Also, instead of apples on one, I used fresh halved cherries. Both were excellent. I did not put the apricot glaze on the cherry tart, but dusted it with powdered sugar instead, and served both with fresh whipped cream. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this tart and it was excellent. The directions was easy to follow and the tart came out perfect. Not to sweet and a fantastic almond and apple aroma. However I found the part where you have to put the sugar on to caramalise not required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a beautiful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner, and was perfect for those who didn't care for pumpkin pie! It was time consuming, but turned out so nicely, I will definitely make it again. I thought it needed just a bit more almond flavor (was a little too buttery and bland for my taste), so next time I will add 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the frangipane. I thought the step about adding sugar during baking was kind of unnecessary because you later spread apricot jelly on it. My sugar wouldn't caramelize, and I didn't want to overbrown the crust; as a result, the sugar part turned out a little globby, so I think I will skip that step next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Turned out great...the second time! The conversion to Metric is slightly inaccurate, so had to do the pastry again, but it was worth it!! Will definitley make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This tart made me look like a professional! I cheated and used store bought puff pastry, omitted the brandy altogether and added raspeberries as a garnish to add color. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Yes, I cheated with a box mix for the crust (I have yet to master the art of a good crust), but otherwise this was an amazingly easy recipe to follow. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract for the Apple Brandy and added a dash of Nutmeg. My husband loves Apple pie and was a little upset I wasn't making one, but he was pleasantly surprised by this tart. He said it reminded him of a breakfast Bear Crawl with Apples. Excellent Recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinatShores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States