French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Turned out great...the second time! The conversion to Metric is slightly inaccurate, so had to do the pastry again, but it was worth it!! Will definitley make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this tart and it was excellent. The directions was easy to follow and the tart came out perfect. Not to sweet and a fantastic almond and apple aroma. However I found the part where you have to put the sugar on to caramalise not required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This tart made me look like a professional! I cheated and used store bought puff pastry, omitted the brandy altogether and added raspeberries as a garnish to add color. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a beautiful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner, and was perfect for those who didn't care for pumpkin pie! It was time consuming, but turned out so nicely, I will definitely make it again. I thought it needed just a bit more almond flavor (was a little too buttery and bland for my taste), so next time I will add 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the frangipane. I thought the step about adding sugar during baking was kind of unnecessary because you later spread apricot jelly on it. My sugar wouldn't caramelize, and I didn't want to overbrown the crust; as a result, the sugar part turned out a little globby, so I think I will skip that step next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
this was amazing!! the best apple tart / pie i have ever eaten. the frangipane was subtle but i liked it that way so that it didn't overpower the apples. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Fabulous! I added pears with the apples and liked it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janis
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fantastic! I'll definitely make this again. It was easy, elegant and tasty. Thank you, Wurzeltree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I was very excited to make this tart for a photo project my partner was working on. I chose it based on the reviews I had read here. I'm lucky it came out looking as good as it did ,because the flavor was just not there. I followed the recipe to the letter aside from cooking an additional 20 minutes. I wish the frangipane had more almond flavor and the crust was less greasy. Its a good start and with a few revisions I think it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I had a problem with this recipe. Let it be said I am not a good pie/tart baker to begin with though. I used premade pie crust, and splenda instad of sugar. Maybe that could have been why but after baking the tart it was VERY VERY greasy. I had to actually drain the tart while it was still warm, if I hadnt have done that it would have been ruined! After I drained the tart is was pretty good. Could use more flavor, maybe almond liquor or extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
It looked and tasted like a professionaly baked tart. I was quite impressed as were my guests. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States