French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Made this for my daughters french class--and well, lets just say she got an A! This baby comes out beautiful and taste like a trip to Paris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I've found a recipe to equal the tart my late friend, Véro, used to make when we lived in Arcachon. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was very good and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I'll add some almond extract to the frangipane because it really didn't have the almond flavor I was expecting. I was disappointed that the sugar on top of mine never carmelized for some reason. I ended up sprinkling it with brown sugar and letting that melt over the tart to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was amazing! My husband thought it was one of the best desserts he's ever had. I didn't have any brandy, so used 1 tsp of almond extract instead. The crust was unbelievably light, flaky and delicious. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lavalady
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very yummy tart. This my first time making a tart, and it turn out great. I didn't use brandy, I used 3/4 tsp of almond extract instead. I kinda over worked the dough, so it was slightly chewier then I think it was supposed to be. I also didn't have a tart/pie pan, so i used a spring form pan instead and crimped the sides. Served with vanilla ice cream and the flavors exploded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavalady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is a beautiful and tasty tart. I just used my own pie crust recipe, and like others used the almond extract because i didn't have the brandy. I sliced my apples very thin- turned out delicious and served with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made this tart last night and what a huge success. My family loved it and they are already requesting it for Thanksgiving. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Yes, I cheated with a box mix for the crust (I have yet to master the art of a good crust), but otherwise this was an amazingly easy recipe to follow. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract for the Apple Brandy and added a dash of Nutmeg. My husband loves Apple pie and was a little upset I wasn't making one, but he was pleasantly surprised by this tart. He said it reminded him of a breakfast Bear Crawl with Apples. Excellent Recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinatShores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This tart was outstanding! I cheated and bought frozen piecrust to save time... but it came out delisious. I substituted 1 tsp of almond extract for the brandy. I think maybe I would use 3/4 tsp next time as it was a little strong... but for anyone who was saying this recipe was a little bland I recommend using almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made two of these for a co-worker's birthday. I did not want to purchase apple brandy, so I substituted 1 tsp. almond extract to enhance the almond flavor. Also, instead of apples on one, I used fresh halved cherries. Both were excellent. I did not put the apricot glaze on the cherry tart, but dusted it with powdered sugar instead, and served both with fresh whipped cream. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States