French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is my husband's new favorite pie crust and he loved the tart (we're not apple pie fans, but this was great). I did not need all four apples, so you may want to peel and slice three and go from there as needed... I had to pull my apples off and start over with the placement. Start by really stacking them like cd's on a shelf - slightly tilted, almost on end...really squeeze them in together somewhat upright. The apricot preserve gave it the beautiful brown color and kept the apples moist. PS - first time i ever made a pie crust and it turned out great (beginners luck or great recipe??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a little bland for my taste and needed a little more apple flavor. I will make it again because I definitely think it is a "workable" recipe, but next time perhaps I'll cook down some apple juice and add that to the filling. Also, be sure to refrigerate the filling if it is ready before the dough is chilled! I didn't, which I think is what caused some of the butter to melt out through the crust. Thank, Wurzeltree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PPERRY0501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipe is amazing and proclaimed "authentic" by a French friend of mine! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I altered this recipe a little bit. I'm allergic to gluten, so I made the crust and the filling with gluten free flour. And I also am not a huge fan of walnuts...so I substituted ground ginger cookies (yum!) It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Amazing! This was so easy to make, impressive looking and of course delicious. The pastry was light & crisp, the filling not too sweet & the apples not too tart. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Easy and delicious. It looks like an elegant dessert, yet it can be made with ingredients on hand. I used a frozen crust to make it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This tart is absolutely beautiful to look at, but unfortunately, it didn't live up to it's looks!! I have been baking for over 45 years and have never put so much work into a recipe and had it disappoint me this much. I didn't care for the consistency of the almond filling (and I LOVE almond flavoring). The guests were appreciative of the beauty of this tart, but I fear they too were more than a little let down when eating it!! I wouldn't go to all this trouble again. Sorry:-( If it weren't so pretty, I'd only give it 2 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Very good. I found the crust easy to make, but you can also substitute store-bought puff pastry for the crust if you are out of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was so easy to make for such an amazing dessert! Instead of brandy I used the same amount of Amaretto Liqueur, gave lots of almond flavor! I also used brown sugar instead and mixed in some tart apples for a really interesting flavor! I was surprised it came out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Searching for something refreshing, pretty and delicious - this is it! I brought this to a dinner party everyone loved it. Garnish with raspberries makes to dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States