French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a classic recipe. I've been making these since before I came to the States (over 25 years). Among the comments about it are that it seems surprisingly "light" (no-one checked the calories!) and not over sweet. It tastes great and very nearly always looks impressive. Keep the frangipane though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
this recipe is amazing!!!! I made it once for a french class celebration and Bam ! I was hooked and so was everyone else. thanks a ton !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna silence
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious. To make it easier, I bought the frozen pie crust at Trader Joes, and I made the frangipane with Odense Almond Paste( in the baking aisle of most supermarket) and butter, I skipped the sugar since the paste is already sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this apple tart today... the frangipane is so delicious! My boyfriend isn't a huge apple fan, so he put those on my plate... I could totally see using some other sort of fruit instead of the apples too, just not sure what yet. I also used 3/4 c. ground almonds and marsala wine instead of apple brandy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CocoTeal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made it for dinner guests - they gave it big compliments. I left it in the oven an extra 20 minutes to brown the crust and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onfiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Perfect recipe- less sugar than others I saw on the web; also the ingredient quantities were in cups not weight which made life much easier. I use spelt flour and expeller expressed canola oil for the crust- increased the flour to 2 cups. Just pressed it in and stuck it in the freezer while I prepared the frangipane. No need to chill, roll, chill... Came out yummy. I didn't even do the apricot glaze, because I was serving it to guests who have to watch their sugar. The drop of sugar sprinkled on top made it finished looking enough. I use a European oven with double turbo so I reduced the temperatures by 10 degrees Celsius- the cooking times were exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious! I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. They weren't just being polite, either. The pastry is so tastely. I ususally do not like pie crust, but this one almost tastes like a soft shortbread. It was yummy. It was incredibly easy and fun to make. I made some additions, however. 1. I toasted slivered almonds with some cinnamon, then ground it in a food preocesser. 2. I added two TBS of good French brandy to the final Frangipane mixture. MMMM 3. I soaked the apples in some brandy and sugar (I used small red sweet and sour apples from a coworker's tree) as I made everything else. ****I may add lcourser grounded toasted almonds to the pastry part next time. I recommend this tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Kasprowicz
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have to give this 4 stars since I had to do some tweaking with my on-hand ingredients and I had to bake it for an additional 15 min. Instead of almonds, I chopped up pecans and instead of apple brandy, I used 1 tsp butterscotch flavoring. That being said, it was fabulous and received rave reviews from my inlaws. I will def. make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kasprowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Loved this easy to prepare, show stopping gorgeous dessert. I did toast the almonds prior to grinding them in the frangipane. I also didn't happen to have any apple brandy on hand but I did have some Orgeat (almond syrup) to use instead. For the topping, I didn't have the apricot jam and instead used orange marmalade mixed with a couple of TBSP of the orgeat to brush on the top. Also used raw sugar to sprinkle on top instead of regular white sugar. This was a huge hit with everyone in my family and guests. Wonderful recipe and easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Everbody in my famly LOVED this tart. I thought it was pretty good but my tart didn't come out as brown as the one in the picture. Also, many people commented on this already, but it really was very very greasy. When I took it out of the oven to sprinkly sugar on it, the apples were drenched in the grease....I didn't do anything though and it came out fine after cooling for a bit. Overall, the recipe was easy to follow, the tarte normande looked beautiful, and impressed my family; I give this a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States