French Apple Pie with Cream Cheese Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
THE ONLY ITEM I WOULD ADD IS A 1/2 CUP OF RAISINS WHICH WOULD REALLY MADE IT LIKE THE OLD FASHIONED FRENCH APPLE PIE.IT IS TRUELY DELICIOUS WHITH THE RAISINS AND I WOULD DEEPLY SUGGEST TO TRY IT THAT WAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I found this recipe as a newly wed and five years later I'm still making it. I do make one change. I more than double the apples called for and then bake it for 60 minutes. This makes it a bit less cake like, but still retains the flavor of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I must say this is a quick, easy and very yummy recipe. I made them into muffins and they were great. I then tried the tiny muffin tins for a bite-sized dessert for entertaining and they were a hit. If you use the small muffin tins, remember to dice the apples a bit smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This pie is more like a cake, but what a surprise to your guests when they cut into it! My pie was a huge hit, mainly with me because it was easy and great. One tip, the batter is really thick, so I washed my hands, took my ring off and mixed it with my hands without the apples. After it was well mixed, I then washed my hands, put my ring on so I wouldn't forget it and added the apples. Then mixed with a large spatula. By the way, I used the apple peeler corer slicer and it made the apples the perfect size. Don't you just love this site?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Not very good warm, but pretty good after it was in the fridge overnight. I think 45 min might be a little too long in the oven, because the edges are kind of tough compared to the rest of it, so if I make it agian, I'll try 35 or 40 min instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Running out of ideas to use up extra apples, I came across this recipe. So easy and yet so good! Changed it up a bit by using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar & replaced the walnuts with raisins. This is one recipe I will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Holly thank you so so much for this recipe. Not only is it very easy to make it is absoultly delicious. Wouldn't change a thing this recipe is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I first made this for a Teacher Appreciation Luncheon. I had to make copies of the receipe it was a hugh success!! Over the last few weeks I have made about 6 of these. My five year old loves to help with it. It only takes about 15-20 minuets to prepare it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This isn't a traditional American Apple pie. But it was delicious! A very rich moist yummy apple cake. And the cream cheese topping....couldn't have been any better! Thanks Holly for this French take on apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Very moist and tasty, I added raisins (about a 1/2 cup). It was very good with the cream cheese frosting, but for a variation will try leaving off the frosting and serving with whipped cream next time. Think it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States