French Apple Pie with Cream Cheese Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this for easter, everyone raved about it! i let the topping stand by the warm oven so it was very easy to apply; i also put a ring of dried cranberries around the sides. Then we popped it in the fridge for it to set, after 5 hours it looked so gourmet. A lot of people compared it to carrot cake but with apples. and MUCH easier to make than carrot cake. i'm losing my taste for apple dishes but if someone requested an apple dessert, i'd reach for this recipe again. (i also didnt have nutmeg fo i used a 1/2 tsp of all spice, and i put the apples in after mixing everything else by SPOON. very thick batter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wow, this is to die for! I read a lot of the reviews beforehand and added an extra cup and half of apples to make it less cake-like. It was still a little cake-like, but it had a fantastic taste. Definitely a company worthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is a cake however I think next time I will double the apples to see if its less cake like. That said it tasted quite good. I creamed the butter and sugar first then added the other ingredients and the apples were mixed in last. At 40min was done so suggest you keep a check on it. Would leave out the nuts next time was not a favourite here, also had no nutmeg so doubled the cinnamon only change I made. I used about 4 medium apples there. The cake came out dark was worried it was burnt but thats how it is supposed to be. Served with whipped cream did not make the topping will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
hooray! a recipe for the pie-crust challenged individual. this is easy, fast, and delicious. I've made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I've made it twice now, followed the directions exactly. The only thing I will change the next time is add less sugar, I love sweet, but it was a bit overwhelming, once I add less sugar it will be perfect! And people have already asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I found this quite average. It's definitely a cake, not a pie. I had trouble with it being too moist and it was more trouble and not as nice as my usual apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is awesome! I baked in a 9" springform pan, left out the walnuts (didn't have any) and left the peel on the apples, which made it a lot faster to make. I also used salted butter in the frosting, and couldn't taste the difference. Everything about this pie is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
didn't have a chance to make the topping. The pie/cake was so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I reduced sugar to 3/4 c, increased apples to 6 c. I like it better COLD. I won't frost it next time. Great w/ cup of afternoon coffee or tea. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
*****THIS IS CAKE! NOT PIE!***** That being said, this is so DANG GOOD!! Its moist, and it hits the spot on a good cold day! I subsituted the nuts for rasins and crasins! Other than I just doubled everything. The only major change I made was the frosting. I used 8ox cream cheese, 8oz Marshmellow cream(half a jar). This is so much less sweeter, and a perfect compliment to this recipe. BTW, I dont normally leave comments, so this is a relly good recipe for me to do this. A big hit among the Germans that live around me(Im stationed in Germany)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States