French Apple Pie with Cream Cheese Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just tried this recipe and it was very flavorful. Enjoyed the simplicity of putting it together. I may double the apples but if not it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This review is for the cream cheese topping. We made pumpkin pancakes and were looking for a yummy topping for them. I made the cream cheese topping along with a cinnamon syrup, and they were both great. The cream cheese topping is basically like a rich creamy icing, and it melted nicely over the top and had a great flavor. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this for my brother's birthday because he wanted an apple pie, and I thought I'd try something different. He gave it a 3.5, so I rated it as 3 because he didn't think it was to die for, and it was very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I am currently expecting and craving French Apple Pie. As having a whole pie/cake in the house would be dangerous, I made this for Thanksgiving to share...hoping there would be leftovers to carry home. I did use a 1/2 cup of raisins instead of walnuts as my family does not like nuts in their desserts. I stewed the raisins and used that hot liquid for the hot water required later in the recipe. I also thinned out the cream cheese icing to a glaze consistency. Next time I may add more apples as other reviewers have suggested. Thank you Marbalet for posting this recipe; as others have stated this is a great recipe for the pie crust challenged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Loved this one! Delicious and fast! I followed the other reviewer's comment and added 1/2 cup of golden raisins and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I seriously could have eaten the entire pan in one sitting. Muster up some will power before diving in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betty
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe!! I would have loved to have added the raisins but my husband said NO! Next time I'll slip some in. Very easy to make, easy to cut and absolutely delicious!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious! It was a hit at a BBQ recently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
F A B U L O U S! You will not regret trying this one!! :) Only thing I did different was I added dried cranberries instead of nuts. Absolutely loved this, so did my husband and 18mo old! :D Will make again and again I know it! :D UPDATE: I made this again today, but didn't add the cranberries! It is great both ways! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe, and yes, it is comparable to a carrot cake, just with apples, but use the frosting, it compliments this cake perfectly! I was craving it ever since the last time I made it, so this is the 2nd time already in less than 2wks. LOL! Yes it is that good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this for easter, everyone raved about it! i let the topping stand by the warm oven so it was very easy to apply; i also put a ring of dried cranberries around the sides. Then we popped it in the fridge for it to set, after 5 hours it looked so gourmet. A lot of people compared it to carrot cake but with apples. and MUCH easier to make than carrot cake. i'm losing my taste for apple dishes but if someone requested an apple dessert, i'd reach for this recipe again. (i also didnt have nutmeg fo i used a 1/2 tsp of all spice, and i put the apples in after mixing everything else by SPOON. very thick batter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States