Freezer Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is soooo good! I didn't use it in a pie, however. I took organic frozen cherries with the rest of the ingredients, added some cornstarch, and cooked it on the stove until it thickened. I then used it in Jenny's Black Forest Cake instead of the canned cherry pie filling. Much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I found no such problem with the thickness of the filling but for the reviewer who did, it is worth noting that berries have much more natural pectin than cherries and in addition, cooking on the stovetop is going to increase the evaporation of liquid. So in all fairness to the recipe submitter, the consistency problem was due to the substitution of ingredients and cooking method, not the recipe itself. I do hope the reviewer tries this again and follows the recipe; I am certain she will be as pleased with the results as I was. In fact, I am off to my kitchen to prepare another pie right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I haven't used this exact recipe, but I have been freezing fresh fruit for pies like this for years. Works great everytime. Even make pies out of pears and it tastes like apple pie. Fools many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is outstanding - we have a very bountiful peach tree and the first time we harvested I was overwhelmed with what to do with all the peaches. I made several of these pie fillings, stacked them in the deep freeze, and we have enjoyed "fresh" peach pie all year long! Pretty special - and SO convenient! The only comment is that the pie often needed to cook quite a lot longer than the recipe indicated (sometimes 2+ hours). When baking, I wait until the filling makes slow bubbles that do not burst- just like with any pie. This recipe is a GREAT idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
SIMPLY THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
used raspberries and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
great concept. However, it is Important to note that you must use instant (or "minute") tapioca. If using a sweet fruit like pears, you may want to use less sugar. I baked it at 375 for 10 minutes, then turned temp. down to 350 and continued cooking for an additional hour and a half, until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I used mixed berries and cooked the filling on the stovetop (per cooking instructions on the tapioca box) for a coffee cake filling. The measurements of lemon juice and sugar were perfect, but it was heavy on the tapioca, as this turned out way too thick once it cooled, almost congealed. I had to add a considerable amount of water, which obviously would not have been possible once the pie was already baked! I don't think I'll be using this recipe again, either as a filling for coffee cake or pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have a question - do you need to cook the pie filling before freezing it??? I assumed not and froze as is. Well, I just tried baking my first cherry pie like this, and it was quite liquidy. We ate it out of bowls! The taste was good, but...And, I don't know what kind of tapioca I have, but it did not absorb much liquid during its cooking time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States