Freezer Peach Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
works just great and easy to prepare. keeps well in freezer. try using more than just peaches. i used apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
It is genius. I love the concept. I do wish that I had made (as another reviewer wrote) more peaches in a 9-inch pie because it is not enough. Next time, I will add 4 c. of fruit. I also think when I do bake it, I will add a top. As a reviewer mentioned--try it with apples and I have a bag of apples waiting so I think I will. Thank you. Love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I didn't exactly make this into a pie. I had an overabundance of sweet peaches and since I made pancakes this morning, I didn't have any honey or syrup to put on them so decided to make this. Since the peaches I had were very sweet, I only used 1/2 cup sugar and 1:1 white/brown. I also added a dash of cinnamon and cooked it up on the stove. It set up nicely and tasted delish on whole wheat pancakes. Thanks for the nice addition to my breakfast! I love the concept of this recipe. Great for on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This is exactly what I was looking for. You probably want to use more than 2 1/2 cups of fruit, if you are going to have a 9 inch pie. I'd say 4 cups, at least, as they cook down. The only things I did differently are that I added about 1-2 tsp Cinnamon AND did a pre-treat on my peaches with Ever Fresh (or Fruit Fresh). Just added about 3 tablespoons to a large basin of water (large enough for 15-20 pounds of peaches). I also added 1 tsp. Ever Fresh per cup of sugar (I use a lot of estimating in my kitchen) in this recipe. I was working on a much larger scale than this recipe called for. My plan is for using this 'filling' for much more than just pie. I don't want to have to freeze this in a pie plate, so I don't want the fruit to brown when I thaw it. Will be using it for fruit topping on pancakes, cobbler, pie, and anything else I can think of. Very versatile recipe! Thanks! SIDENOTE: I did bake up one pie. It's nice. Wished I would have had a top crust and used a smaller pie plate. You live and learn. UPDATE: I used this recipe to make Peach cobbler while camping. I used the Peach cobbler VI recipe. I received RAVES from the camping buddies. Used in place of the peaches & spices in the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
What a fantastic idea...I used 4 cups peaches for the 9" pie pan and added a crumb topping when I baked the pie. I also added 1 tsp. Fruit Fresh right to the sugar mixture, and the peaches didn't brown at all. My family raved about this, so I will be making a few more to have in the freezer for this winter. I will also try this with apples. Thnaks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Having a peach treee, this recipe works great to freeze for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wildbluestarz
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME PIE:) I wouldnt be cooking if I didnt alter it at ALL though-i just cant leave well enough alone lol. SO as previously suggested up the peaches to 4 cups, toss in lemon juice to prevent browning-no need to buy fresh fruit preserver. I also threw in a dash of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla(I know-such exact amounts)and 1/2 tbs more of cornstarch and tapioca just because I uped the amount of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I can't wait to do this with all my apples! How easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We prepared exactly as the recipe said, and it was a perfect peach pie! The filling had just the right consistency, and when prepared with a ready made, refrigerated crust, it's the easiest homemade dessert! I'm about to make a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy for 7!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is great! Don't know why I didn't think of this. All fruit fillings are great like this. Thanks for this idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States