Freezer Cucumber Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
made these a bunch of times now. fantastic way to use garden cukes. I add less sugar and a little more vinegar. Sometimes I add Jalapenos and bell peppers also. straight to the fridge and eat them all week..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The texture after freezing is good and crunchy. The saltiness was way over the top for me. I didn't like the flavor at all, expecting a bread & butter type pickle from the reviews given. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Good flavor! For those who were wondering what "80 servings" is, I made about 8 pints following the recipe (used about 4 medium yellow onions to get "8 cups.") Could easily be halved. Also added about 2 tsp dill to entire mix, could be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We've been making these for years but have never frozen (Refrigerator Pickles) but we add 1/2 teaspoon whole celery seed and peppers. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent! My first time making pickles and I'm glad this is the recipe I chose. I did use a red onion because I was out of the other onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Abild King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe is really good and fun to make! It really works great. I had about 1 lb. of pickling cucumbers left over from "real" canning, and didn't want to go through the whole canning scenario with them. I found this recipe, adjusted the servings to how many cucumbers I had, and WOW. I made this and put it in the freezer on Sunday. I took them out of the freezer and put into the refrigerator on Tuesday. We ate them today. Everyone loved them! They're real, delicious pickles along the lines of bread and butter pickles. Very good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This recipe is great! We decided to try freezer pickles since we've never canned before and this seemed like an easier alternative. These turned out great! The pickles stay crunchy long after you thaw them. They are very sweet, and even the onions taste great. We've made them twice and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very good! I tried it right out of the bowl and haven't frozen it yet. I keep popping back in the kitchen for another! I ran short of sugar so I only used 3 cups and added 2 T dried dill to the recipe. This is so good and my garden so abundant I plan to pick up more sugar and onion and do a few more batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Like many, mine never made it to the freezer. Instead of the apple-cider vinegar, I used a red wine garlic vinegar, for those who like garlic. My next batch will be made using a roasted garlic rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are awesome pickles and easy to make. I wasn't sure if they would be as good frozen as they were when they were fresh, but they were great when I thawed them at Christmas time. I left the chunks kind of thick so I think that helped them to be a little crunchy after being frozen. I also use red onion slices for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States