Freezer Caramel Drizzle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wow, wow, wow! I couldn't believe how yummy this pie was! I made mine from homemade by using a homemade graham cracker crust with cinnamon, homemade caramel sauce, and homemade whipped cream. Also, if you make this recipe in a springform pan you are able to make ONE pie that will be a little taller rather than two pies in pie pans. Other than subbing homemade ingredients for store bought, I followed the recipe exactly as is and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Yum, yum, yum, yum! I made my own whipped cream and my own sweetened condensed milk. I found that I used less caramel sauce. I served this to two people who claim not to like coconut and they loved it! Toasting the nuts is a must, it makes for such a wonderful topping to this great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
DELICIOUS!!!AND EASY!!! I did cut back on the condensed milk a bit and the amount of caramel. But this was truly a find and amazingly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I don't like graham cracker crust so I used shortbread...it was soooooo good and creamy I love it. My husband asked for it to be on rotation....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBattle2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This pie was far too sweet. I was disappointed as it was so overwhelmingly sweet it was hard to eat more than a few bites. The rest of my family agreed, so it wasn't just me. Next time, I will definitely use less caramel and possibly less sweetened condensed milk. Good basic idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Posen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made this in a 9" X 13" pan, using 2 cups of gluten free graham cracker crumbs (which I made myself), 1/4 cup of melted butter & 2 Tbsp. of sugar. I used a 1 litre container of cool whip, as we don't have 16 oz. size in Canada. Over the first layer of the cream cheese mixture, I sprinkled 2 crushed up score bars and mini chocolate chips, drizzling caramel ice cream topping over the top. Repeated the layers. I made this for a family gathering this weekend, but had to try a tiny piece before they all get here. AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I do not care for coconut or pecans. So I made my own version of this and it was incredible. I replaced the coconut with white chocolate shavings and dark chocolate shavings. I replaced the pecans with chopped macademia nuts and chopped dehydrated banana chips. Saute the the macademias and banana chips in butter and do not melt the chocolate shavings. For those of you like me who don't like either or both coconuts or pecans...give this a try by substituting one or both. It is mmmm mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraFishinGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My gosh this is great and I used low fat or fat free when I could and it was fab!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this for the 4th of July, and it was pretty darn good on a hot summer day. Definitely decadent and very rich - everyone enjoyed it although some couldn't finish their piece it was so rich. I made one 9x13 instead of two pies. I also made my own graham cracker crust by using 2 C graham crumbs, 1 stick of butter, and 1/3 C sugar. I would do it this way again, just because it seems easier to me than making two pies - easy to transport and serve. Also, be careful when toasting the pecans and coconut. I was distracted by my three-year old and burnt the first batch, and had to start over (not unusual for me). Like another reviewer said, one of the guests suggested chocolate in addition to the caramel. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Taste better after it has been in the freezer for 24 hours. So make it ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States