Freezer Caramel Drizzle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It was easy and cheap to make. I froze it for a day before serving it out though since I didn't like how it looked dished out with only 12 hrs [but that's just my freezer]. Trying this with an Oreo pie crust seems tempting to try also with this type of recipe, or any "chocolate" type crust. It was a little sweet to some people in the house but for me it was fine. I cooked the coconuts and pecans a bit longer on a low temperature because I wanted it all to be browned evenly as possible and have the flakes come out more crunchy. Depending on what type [brand] you use for your chocolate and caramel syrup be careful when you drizzle it since mines spilled a bit over the crust because I thought it would be thicker in texture; should have tried a little on a spoon or something to see how it would come out first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have made this pie and every time I made it there was not any left, it goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this for years & everyone RAVES about it. Always a huge hit. The family is disappointed if I don't make it for Thanksgiving. Where I found it, it was actually called "Oh gawd Pie", )because the first bite everyone says "oh gawd".) (in the South :).) I don't layer it, I just dump all of the filling in the crust & top with the coconut/pecans & caramel. And I don't use a graham cracker crust. It's a little harder but much better with a pecan/flour crust: Crust: Preheat oven to 350. Mix 1 1/2 C flour + 1 C finely chopped pecans + 1 stick melted butter together until combined & all moistened. Press evenly into 2 – 8” pie pans, or 1 - 9x13 baking pan, (sprayed with cooking spray). Bake @ 350 for about 10-15 min, or until edges start to brown. Set aside to cool. MUST try it. You won't be sorry! (except it's addictive!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very rich. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent pie! easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
OMG! This is absolutely delicious! Made it the first time for Christmas and have been making it ever since. It has become my boyfriends number 1 favorite! And has now been added to the request list for family pitch ins! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I have a hard time with the graham cracker crust sticking. Kinda hard to serve without tearing it up. Also takes a while to freeze to a good serving consistency. Have made both the pie version and a 9 x 13 version. Both are great! Never ANY to go to waste! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great but changed it to my family's likes. Added 1/4 cup of caramel syrup to the cream cheese mixture. Instead of layering with caramel I layered it with chocolate hot fudge and then topped it with mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, chopped toasted almonds and drizzled with caramel syrup. My family was in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was a little too sweet for us. I think it was the sweetened condensed milk that was too much for us. I will try this again skipping the condensed milk. I really liked the coconut/pecan topping. Plus it had a marshmellow taste and consistancy that was unexpected and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Wooooweeeee!!!!!! I can not believe I made something that tastes this good! I made it for a get-together with the inlaws. Shared with my neighbors and even took some to work. EVERYONE enjoyed it. I would rate it more stars if I could. Thanks for a great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Sweet, but excellent. The topping is to die for. I made my own crust in a 13X9 pan and followed the rest of the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States