Freeda's Fabulous Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I don't eat fish myself, so I made this for my husband and his father, they LOVED it! I used a little less than a half teaspoon cayenne, because my father in law doesnt like this too spicy. Instead of fresh tomatoes, i used canned Italian Stewed Tomatoes. Hubby was leery of using soy sauce on Cod, so I subbed Worcestershire Sauce instead(he said it gave it a more "New England" flair than the soy would have). EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chatham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I used tilapia and I thought it was pretty good. I think next time I will add 1/4 cup of honey, I think the sweetness of the honey with the cayenne would definitely compliment the sauce. Thanks for sharing your recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good! Definitely cut back on the butter. I doubled the recipe into a 13x9 glass baking dish.I had a red bell pepper that needed to be used, cut it into strips and used one lemon and one lime. Everybody loved. Next time I am going to cut back on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is awesome! My husband wants to make it 5 nights a week! The calories are much lower than the nutrition stated due to most of the sauce is left in the pan! I used only 1/4 cup of butter and mixed 1/8 cup soy sauce w/ 1/8 cup water & half a pack of the seasoning for steak marinade- either Mckormick or grill mates- not sure, (the kind you normally add vinegar & water to). I used lemon juice instead of fresh lemon. I also used the cayenne pepper. Best fish we have ever had, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Loved it. I made a few changes. I used Bragg's Liquid Amino Acids, instead of a steak marinade. I also used half the butter. It came out great. I put extra tomatoes in the pan and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
We made this for lunch today and it was instant hit with myself, 2 teens and spouse. I used the Best Steak Marinade in Existence recipe found here on allrecipes.com, changed it to 2 serving quanitity. I also used fresh organic tomatoes, which came out very sweet tasting in this dish. I did cut back the butter as suggested by others, and used a little more than a quarter cup. Overall, we found this to be great tasting, very quick and easy to fix, and a new favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Great recipe!! And so pretty... I may use stewed tomatoes the next time as the plain baked tomatoes were a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
I used a little less cayenne. My husband said it was EXCELLENT and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I love seafood but I'm a little timid about making it. This recipe was foolproof, and delicious. I love spicy food so I added some hot sauce to the fish before I baked it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. I've used it for baking Halibut, Ling Cod, Yellow Eye, Tilapia, and I'd guess it would work for just about any other fish you'd want to try. I've reduced the amount of cayenne pepper as my husband can't handle really spicy food. Otherwise, I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States