Freeda's Fabulous Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
So delicious! I used red snapper and had to change it up a little because I didn't have exact ingredients on hand. I subbed steak sauce with part worcestershire and part soy sauce. I also added a half onion sliced on top with tomato. I forgot the lemon and it still turned out amazing! Thanks to freeda for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This fish was freakin' awesome!!!!! My 4 & 6 year old ate 3 helpings each....and that says alot! So easy to make, I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Magnolia Springs, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Loved it! Easy and tasty. I did cut down on the butter, I used about 1/3 cup, and since I didn't have any tomatoes I used mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great tasting dish. I did change a few things to accommodate time and available ingredients. I seasoned the fish with garlic powder and rosemary, quickly sauteed it in a little butter, dumped in a little soy sauce and a can of drained canned tomatoes and let simmer until the fish was flaky. The sauce was great on rice. It looked pretty and tasted "fancy". Family all enjoyed it, even the pickiest eater. Thanks for an easy to adapt recipe with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Really great recipe!!! Simple, quick and pretty to serve. A hit at our house. I've played around with the marinade/steak sauce thing. I've used soy, dry rub, and a great recipe for steak marinade from this site. This recipe is so good because you almost can't mess it up!! (And for anyone watching calories, most of the butter stays in the pan - it's just a beautiful cooking method to keep the fish moist and yummy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
It's sort of unfair for me to rate this recipe, since I didn't have the exact ingredients. I had thawed the fish (cod) and needed to go ahead and use it, so I had to substitute. Not having fresh tomatoes, I used canned and didn't think to drain them, so I ended up with wayyyy too much liquid (but the liquid had a great flavor and I saved it to use in another dish). I also found that my steak marinade was actually teriyaki, but I used it anyway. However, it did come out well and hubby said, "Yes, we could have that again." I prefer my fish grilled or broiled, but I had seconds of this, so Id say it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very easy to make, tasted great. Its a recipe that I will be repeating often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is awesome! My husband wants to make it 5 nights a week! The calories are much lower than the nutrition stated due to most of the sauce is left in the pan! I used only 1/4 cup of butter and mixed 1/8 cup soy sauce w/ 1/8 cup water & half a pack of the seasoning for steak marinade- either Mckormick or grill mates- not sure, (the kind you normally add vinegar & water to). I used lemon juice instead of fresh lemon. I also used the cayenne pepper. Best fish we have ever had, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Loved it. I made a few changes. I used Bragg's Liquid Amino Acids, instead of a steak marinade. I also used half the butter. It came out great. I put extra tomatoes in the pan and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good! Definitely cut back on the butter. I doubled the recipe into a 13x9 glass baking dish.I had a red bell pepper that needed to be used, cut it into strips and used one lemon and one lime. Everybody loved. Next time I am going to cut back on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States