Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I've tried many different chili recipes and this was one of the best. It was very rich. I, true to form, added fresh garlic to the onions and jalapenos, which I sauteed in some olive oil prior to adding the meat and etc. I also adjusted the "hot" because I like spicy food, but, not so spicy that my mouth is on fire. If you're like me, try using a 1/4 cup of chili powder, 1 tbl. of tobasco, 2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, and the rest as stated. Next time, I might add some chopped celery or celery seed and maybe another can of beer to make it soupier. But, I can't rave enough about this recipe! This sounds cheesy, but it dances on your tongue! Serve with tortilla chips, a dollop of sour cream and some fresh chopped chives! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Please keep in mind that cooking beer for 2 hours as the recipe states winds up cooking away any alcohol from the beer. All that's left is the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was definitely the best chili I have ever made. I am really picky about the kinds of chili I like. It had excellent flavor. I made it with the amounts of "hot stuff" that were stated in the recipe, and it was perfect if you like some heat. It had kick, but not too overwhelmingly hot. I served it to a crowd, and they all raved about it. This will definitely be made again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Awesome Chili. My department entered this chili in a chili cookoff and we took People's Choice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
A definite keeper, excellent Chili! Will be making this again. Came out with just the right amount of heat for the spicy food lovers. If you don't like spicy foods or have children, you may want to try it without the optional red pepper flakes, or add it near the end to match your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Congrats to "FRANK" for this recipie. I read as though it would be "just right" for me regarding the spices, however for my wife - she doesn't eat the really spicy stuff. So I didn't use the (4) peppers, rather I used two of Ortega's small cans of diced green chili peppers. I was more than pleased with how the taste of the chili was on the first day, but as with all chili, the second day was better yet. I was able to enjoy the heat of the spices, which stay on the tongue for a brief moment - not too long to not taste the chili, coupled with the sweetness of all the onion and the taste of the beer flavour. My wife enjoyed the taste and complemented the recipie due to the spices not overpowering the taste. That was the moment of realizing chili success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this spicy chili! First time I like to make a recipe exactly as written but in subsequent preparations I have not used the Tabasco as it is too dominant in regard to the overall flavor, and use 2 tbsp red pepper flakes instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Wow!!! What A great recipe. I made 2 batches and omitted the spices for my kids, and added them to the other one. The whole family loved it. Even my husband who is hard to please when it comes to chili because he likes it spicey. I added more spice and it was nearly too hot for me. lol Husband loved it though. Thank You so much for this recipe. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Absolutely awesome. Between the beer (I used a flying dog K-9 Winter Ale) and bacon greese - there was a flavor my million batches never had. Fantastic! Thank you for a great and new way to flavor chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Frank, I love this chili. I have made it several times, and just made it last night again, but had to change it a little due to lack of ingredients. I only had one can of diced tomatoes, so added one can of rotel cilantro and lime diced tomatoes. I had one pound of ground turkey and just less than one pound of sirloin steak chopped in small pieces. I didn't want to go to the store, so had to make do with what I had. My beer was Yuengling and it worked out great. We like spicy, but not to hot, so added 1/4 cup chili pepper and several dashes of hot pepper sauce (chihula sauce), no pepper flakes or jalapeno peppers, just some shakes of red pepper. My beans were one can of pintos and one can of kidney. Many changes, but so similar to your recipe. It turned out great and I just wanted to let you know that these small changes can still produce a great chili. If you have a large group to serve, you can also cook a pot of white rice and serve the chili on top - really can feed a crowd. I have college age kids and friends and am always looking for ways to feed a lot without too much expense. Everyone raved about the recipe on a cold evening. Update 3/17/14 I am still making this delicious chili and found that a stout beer is the best to use. I follow the recipe as written except for adjusting the spices down a little for our taste. I still get great reviews when I serve this. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States