Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I love this chili recipe. I have made it six times in as many months. I usually take the recipe and divide it between two separate pots so I can make a mild one and a ridiculously hot one. That way guests who don't care for spicy food can still enjoy it. I also love to use the leftovers to make killer chilidogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I've tried many different chili recipes and this was one of the best. It was very rich. I, true to form, added fresh garlic to the onions and jalapenos, which I sauteed in some olive oil prior to adding the meat and etc. I also adjusted the "hot" because I like spicy food, but, not so spicy that my mouth is on fire. If you're like me, try using a 1/4 cup of chili powder, 1 tbl. of tobasco, 2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, and the rest as stated. Next time, I might add some chopped celery or celery seed and maybe another can of beer to make it soupier. But, I can't rave enough about this recipe! This sounds cheesy, but it dances on your tongue! Serve with tortilla chips, a dollop of sour cream and some fresh chopped chives! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this chili using all of the ingredients listed, except I did not add the hot peppers! And I used 2 Tablespoons of crushed red pepper flakes. My husband loves "spicy" chili but this was a bit too hot! The next time, I will eliminate the crushed red pepper flakes and cut back on the chili powder. The texture of the chili is good and with less heat I am sure it will be just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
wow....really good chili....i scaled back a bit on the "hot" stuff and now i wish i didn't!!.....this will be my new chili recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I thought this chili was good, but not spectacular. My husband and my friend thought it was way too spicy, and I even cut down on the amount of spice I put in (only one T of Tabasco and one T of crushed red pepper). I had really hoped the beer taste would be prominent, but it just wasn't there. Topped it with Fritos and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic Chili recipe!! It is the only one I will make now. Watch the amount of onions when preparing for a crowd, it can be too much for the weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Soooo good! I used 1/2 turkey,1/2 beef. plus I sauteed garlic onions and green bell peppers after browning the meat. This was hands down THE BEST chili my man ever had! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I have never felt the need to review anything before but this chili was FANTASTIC!!! I have spent many years trying to find or create the "Perfect" chili recipe and my search is over!! It is great if you either follow the recipe to the "T" or a great base to make it the way you want!! Just enough spice too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made a less-spicy version of this for my family and it went over very well, even my picky 6 year old ate it. After sauteing the ground beef, I cooked it in the crock pot. THe only thing I will change next time is I will soften the onions a bit up before the crock pot, they stayed kind of crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My hubby and I stumbled upon this last year. We love it. My hubby likes to tweak his hot foods so he has since added another 1lb. of hot italian sausage (he is from NY). Just great, and my kids love it too, even as hot as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States