Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was the real dinner I attempted to cook for my family and boyfriend and this recipe was simple but everyone really loved it. I cut down on some of the spicy stuff a little but other then that it was amazing and everyone thinks i can cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
So good! I added a little more beer to make it a bit more "soupy." It really does get better the longer it sits. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was great - toned down the spice (omitted the hot sauce). Was good on day one, even better on day two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is the best chili I've ever made. I've shared the recipe with many and get rave reviews every time I make it. Someone even asked me to make a batch so they could take it to a work chili cookoff! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Easily the best chili I've ever made. I cooked it with only two of the jalapenos chopped up in the chili, and the other two just floating whole while simmering, still giving the flavor but not all of the heat. I'm making it again for New Year's Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
My husband and I love chili during football season and this recipe is awesome! We cook in our crock pot. We also don't use the exact amounts the recipe calls for with the spicy stuff and onions but all the ingred. are used. It is still spicy and gets better everyday after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buchanan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Left out some of the hot, the flavor and consistany was purfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I stumbled across this recipe while searching for a different chili recipe. Since I am living in AL, I decided to try it. I cut back on the spicyness because I have a 6 yr old. However, the things I did differently were: I cooked the beef with the onions to make the onions less noticable in the chili, and I cut back on the heat. I used one small can of fire roasted chilis and the 1/3 cup of chili powder, and 1 TSP of the red pepper flakes. It was perfect for my child. And it also tasted really good. This is a recipe that is very adaptable and very tasty! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Congrats to "FRANK" for this recipie. I read as though it would be "just right" for me regarding the spices, however for my wife - she doesn't eat the really spicy stuff. So I didn't use the (4) peppers, rather I used two of Ortega's small cans of diced green chili peppers. I was more than pleased with how the taste of the chili was on the first day, but as with all chili, the second day was better yet. I was able to enjoy the heat of the spices, which stay on the tongue for a brief moment - not too long to not taste the chili, coupled with the sweetness of all the onion and the taste of the beer flavour. My wife enjoyed the taste and complemented the recipie due to the spices not overpowering the taste. That was the moment of realizing chili success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
this chili was AMAZING! i made it for a bonfire party and all the guys loved it. some of the girls thought it was too spicy but i think they are just wimps! HA! it had an excellent flavor and a perfect consistency. i was expecting us to have leftovers but the guests ate every bite (and i even tripled the recipe). this is my new go-to chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States