Frank's Spicy Alabama Onion Beer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I make all kinds of chili and this was fabulous! Of course I had to health it up and make it my own with the following tweaks. 1 pound ground turkey instead of 2 pounds ground chuck, 1 large white onion instead of two, one green bell pepper diced, 4 celery stalks diced, one McCormick low sodium chili seasoning packet, 2 jalapenos diced WITH seeds instead of 4 seeded, 3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce from a can diced. Omit the tabasco, chili powder and red pepper flakes...the chipotle and jalapenos with seeds add plenty of heat. Also a couple of drops of liquid heat. Keep the beer, worcestershire sauce, 2 cans of spicy chili beans, 2 cans of diced tom, 2 cans tom sauce. Serve with cornbread, top with fresh cilantro, green onion, sour cream and cheese. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
this is TOPS!!!..i make this chili constantly (due to the request of others), and it is the tastiest chili!..also, the longer it sits in the fridge, the BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyinmytummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Just made this tonight. Husband & kids loved it. I left out the jalapeño peppers & Tabasco sauce. Don't think the kids would be to happy with me if I used them. I am sure that it will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemade With Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is an excellent chili recipe if you like a thinner chili that is super spicy.. which is what i love!! I reccommended this to several friends and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was easy to make and if you add the red pepper flakes it spices it up a lot more. I used canned jalapenos since I forgot to buy the fresh ones, also we ate it after 2 hours and then in a few days and it is better after the 2nd day. I'll be making this again! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
this was really good and i understand why you have to wait two days to let it pickle i would only change draining things seemed just a little too wet. but flavor awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSKI6703

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Oh My!!! This is so awesome my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lkreachbaum
Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is great stuff. I give it 5 stars, not that it's the best chili ever, necessarily, but it belongs up there with the handful of best chili recipes. I made this pretty much as written. My beef was 85% lean (not sure if it was chuck or not), and a tad over 2 pounds. The beer used was a bottle of Corona Light. I also opted to add the red pepper flakes, which I crushed at home from a bag of dried "whole chile pequin" I had. The smell while cooking was tantalizing, so I had a bowl soon after it was done. The beer taste was pretty noticeable and I didn't like that. So I refrigerated the rest, and on the 3rd, 4th and 5th days had the rest. It really does get better! The beer taste faded into the background, and the spices and heat really developed wonderfully. It made 7 fairly big bowlfuls for me. The chili has a bit of liquid in it (I see that some reviewers complained about that), but not at all too much, in my opinion. It is a very nice blend of textures and flavors, and is pretty hot if you make it with everything listed. I made it again today, and look forward to enjoying it in a couple of days. Thanks for a great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is by far the best chili recipie I've come across. Instead of using the red pepper flakes, I used 3 Jalapenos and 2 Habanjeros. It was really tasty. Next time I think I'll do 4 Jalapenos and 3 Habaneros... I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was the real dinner I attempted to cook for my family and boyfriend and this recipe was simple but everyone really loved it. I cut down on some of the spicy stuff a little but other then that it was amazing and everyone thinks i can cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States